Meatballs From Scratch

Meatballs From Scratch

This past month I have been quite spoiled. During the cold winter months construction is much slower; Reuben has been having so many days off from work. It’s like endless weekends spent together.

Instas January 2013

My days have been filled with leisurely walks through the woods, mugs of tea (several times a day), lovely reading, Pinterest (of course), organizing, photographing, and generally preparing for baby. It feels like the breath before the plunge; the calm before the storm.

In preparation for the new member of our family, I have been making up nutritious meals and slipping them into the freezer. So far I have stored up chicken broth, homemade bread, sausage and potato soup, and a couple bags of these meatballs.

Making meatballs is so much more fun with Reuben as my compatriot. He is constantly putting a smile on my face with his words as we exchange and steal kisses. And he does the hardest part: browning the meatballs.

Of course not all of the them make it to the freezer. We like to feast on them with mashed potatoes, gravy and peas, or with a red sauce over noodles.

Meatballs From Scratch | adapted from The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Food From My Frontier | makes 6-8 servings | PRINTABLE PAGE

Ingredients:

  • 6 slices crusty bread (or about 1.5 – 2 cups of panko or quick oats)
  • 3/4 lb ground beef (we use ground venison)
  • 3/4 lb ground pork
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 large eggs, beaten
  • 2 tablespoons dried parsley
  • 3/4 cup grated or shredded parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 cup whole milk
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • fresh ground black pepper, to taste
  • coconut or olive oil, for frying

Directions:

1) If using bread slices, bake at 200°F (95°C) on a baking sheet in a single layer for about 30 minutes, or until dry. Pulse in a food processor or blender until crumbled.

2) Put the breadcrumbs and the remaining ingredients (besides the oil) in a large bowl and mix with your hands until everything is very well combined. Add more breadcrumbs or milk to create the right consistency. Form the meat into balls (I like mine a bit smaller than golf ball-sized) and line up on a cookie sheet. Place in the freezer for 10-15 minutes to firm up. Preheat your oven to 350°F (175°C).

3) Preheat the oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Cook the meatballs until browned on most sides, working in batches. Meatballs will not be cooked all the way through. Transfer to a baking pan and bake in preheated oven until cooked through, about 15-25 minutes.

4) Use the meatballs immediately or cool completely and store in the freezer. Simply reheat in the oven or thaw and cook in a red sauce or white gravy.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

15 thoughts on “Meatballs From Scratch

    • Anna: Yeah, the parmesan goes particularly well with a red sauce. 🙂 Ooooh, your meatballs look delicious! That’s brilliant about frying a bit to see if the seasoning needs adjusting – I wondered how you would be able to tell without tasting raw meat. 🙂

    • Laura: So glad you enjoy my blog! I drink a few kinds of tea, with Chai being my favorite. The Tazo chai is quite good. I received a lovely Saigon Chai as a sample from David’s Tea. I’ve also been drinking “pregnancy tea” nearly every day: a blend of alfalfa, nettles, red raspberry and mint.

  1. Erica! That is the prettiest bowl of meatballs I ever did see. AND I wish I was thinking ahead when I was pregnant with my girls, I would have stock-piled meals galore! You’ll be so glad to pull those meals out when baby comes… how exciting!

  2. Thanks for the sensible critique. Me and my neighbor were just preparing to do some research on this. We got a grab a book from our local library but I think I learned more from this post.

Leave a comment