Fruit-on-the-Bottom Baked Oatmeal

Back when peaches were in season, I devised a baked oatmeal recipe to incorporate them. I just threw a few things together and pushed it into the oven. To my surprise, it was really good. We’ve tried it with pears and apples, with the same delicious results.

Hot fruit on the bottom, sweet oatmeal in the middle, and crunchy almonds on top. This could easily be a dessert…

:: Fruit-on-the-Bottom Baked Oatmeal ::

Ingredients:

  • Approximately 1 1/2 cup thinly sliced fruit* or enough to generously cover the bottom of a 9-inch square baking dish
  • 1/2 cup whole milk
  • 2/3 cup pure maple syrup
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) butter
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 2 cups old fashioned rolled oats
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
  • 4 tablespoons demerara, sucanat or rapadura, divided
  • 1/3 cup slices almonds

*Peaches, pears & apples are good choices. If using apples, make sure to cup them thinly or they will be crunchy.

  1. Preheat oven to 350Β° F. Melt butter; pour 1/4 cup into bottom of a 9-inch square baking dish. Arrange sliced fruit on top of the butter and sprinkle with 2 tablespoons demerara. Set aside.
  2. In a medium bowl, mix together milk, maple syrup, eggs, remaining butter and vanilla.
  3. In a large bowl, whisk together oats, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Stir the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and mix well. Pour over fruit and smooth the top. Sprinkle with almonds and remaining 2 tablespoons demerara.
  4. Bake at 350Β° for 40-50 minutes, or until browned on top and fruit is bubbly. Allow to cool slightly. Serve with milk, cream or Vanilla Sauce.

Serves 6-8

10 thoughts on “Fruit-on-the-Bottom Baked Oatmeal

  1. Oh my. This looks just delicious; we are a family of oatmeal lovers, so this just might be breakfast tomorrow. Thanks so much for posting. Perfect for a cold morning.

  2. Pingback: The oatmeal that changed my life « Little Joys

  3. I just pulled this out of the oven and had my first taste. It is DELICIOUS! I put it together with peaches, halved the amount of butter and added no sweetener other than the maple syrup. The only nuts I had on hand were cashews, and they were a good substitute for almonds. And, yet another substitute – I used 1 cup of rolled oats and 1 cup steel cut oats because that is what I had in the pantry. Thank you for such a great and flexible recipe that I know I will enjoy baking again and again.

  4. Pingback: Baked Oatmeal, Old & New | Cooking for Seven

  5. I have been wanting to make this recipe for a while now, and I finally got to today! It really was delicious. My husband (who’s not a big oatmeal person) said that it was really good, and when I said I thought he didn’t like oatmeal he said, “But this isn’t really oatmeal.” πŸ™‚ I consider it a successful conversion, whether he wants to admit it or not. Thank you!

    By the way you have a gorgeous website and photography and delectable recipes. We loved the granola and the flourless chocolate marbled cake and everything else from the site we’ve tried!

  6. This is SOOO delicious!! I stumbled onto your site some months back when I made your apple muffins (that is a whole other review in itself, so good!) I rediscovered your page a few days ago and decided to try this baked oatmeal w/ fruit on the bottom…it turned out to be brunch for my husband and I. We LOVED it. He was pleasantly surprised to have his instead of sandwich/salad/soup, etc. I also made the Vanilla Sauce….MMMMMM! Only fruit I had on hand was one apple and dried apricots (I know, that’s sad, I need to go to the grocery store..hahaha) AND im lactose intolerant so had only almond milk on hand…found on another site to compensate add 2tsp of butter to each cup of milk…even with my changes…IT WAS AMAZINGLY DELICIOUS! I even used the almond milk in the Vanilla Sauce. This is surely going into my rotation! Thanks SO much for sharing this recipe and congrats on your engagement. It’s so nice to be newly in love, my husband and I just celebrated 10 yrs this past January, it gets even better with time when ur married to your best friend!

  7. Pingback: Recipe RenovationsBaked Apple Oatmeal - Recipe Renovations

Leave a Reply

