Homemade Pizza Sauce

Sauce is so important to a homemade pizza. I’m sure you could buy a very good bottled sauce. But why not make your own and control what goes into it?

This recipe makes a slightly sweet pizza sauce. The maple syrup helps to balance the acidity of the tomato paste. If you would like a less sweet version, simply decrease the amount of maple syrup.

.

:: Quick Homemade Pizza Sauce ::

.

Ingredients:

1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons tomato paste

2 tablespoons olive oil

2 teaspoons dried oregano

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1 teaspoon onion powder

1/2 teaspoon sea salt

1 tablespoon plus 1 teaspoon pure maple syrup

1-2 tablespoons red cooking wine (optional but very good)

1/4 cup water

Directions:

Place all ingredients in a small saucepan. Whisk together until well combined. Place over low heat and cook until heated through. Taste and adjust seasonings if necessary.

Makes about 3/4 cup, or enough for two large pizzas

P.S. It’s Kitchen Tip Tuesday…


22 thoughts on “Homemade Pizza Sauce

  1. This is such an exquisite photo! The sauce sounds so interesting. Does the maple flavor come through or just add sweetness?

    Can’t wait to try it. I may add a bit of red pepper flake to make it a smidge spicy. Love it!

  2. I tried this recipe on Christmas Eve and we all loved it. I used sugar since I didn’t have maple syrup. I also didn’t have any wine so that wasn’t there. My daughter told me this tasted just like a pizza restaurants in our town that has the best sauce. This is a keeper for us.

  3. I JUST MADE THIS SAUCE. IT IS SO EASY!! I AM GOING TO USE THIS TO MAKE PIZZA BREAD!! THE TASTE IS BETTER THAN ANYTHING YOU COULD BUY!!!

  4. Pingback: :the wynk: » Blog Archive » Link Day!

  5. This is fantastic! I wanted to see if you would give me permission to use it in my gluten free meal planner with some slight modifications (doubled everything and used 1-6 oz can of tomato paste and added fresh garlic cloves)? I would be glad to list your blog site as a reference on the recipe. (p.s. your picture is gorgeous!!! Do you take them yourself??)

  6. Nicole: Permission granted! Feel free to make any changes to the recipe. The fresh garlic sounds very good. I do ask that you provide a link the the original.
    Thank you for you kind comments…Yes, unless otherwise noted, I take all of my photos.

    Erica

  7. Another thought after looking at more of your work…would you be interested in conversing about maybe doing some photography for my meal book? If so please contact me directly by email.
    Thanks,
    Nicole

  8. Pingback: Almond Butter | Cooking for Seven

  9. Pingback: Homemade pizza sauce

  10. I made this last night and we all thoroughly enjoyed it! Even my 2 year old and 4 year old loved it. It had a wonderful taste! I do have one con, and that is I felt as though it tasted a bit too salty. I think the next time I will cut back on the salt. But other than that, it was perfect!

  11. Pingback: Pizza Sauce « Mom Makes…

  12. Pingback: Homemade Pizza Sauce « The Hoot Eats

  13. This was AMAZING! I didn’t have garlic powder or onion powder so I omitted those and the salt, and did 1.5 teaspoons of garlic salt. Also didn’t have any maple syrup so I used brown sugar. For the wine I used Malbec (it was all I had)….phenomenal!!! I may never use store bought pizza sauce ever again 🙂

  14. Pingback: Homemade Pizza Sauce and Cooking for Seven |

Leave a Reply

