Banana Nut Bread

We’ll be heading out to go skiing tomorrow, so things will be quiet around here for a week or so. I leave you with this recipe…

This recipe makes a moist and flavorful loaf again and again. And can you beleive it’s 100% whole wheat? Serve warm or at room temperature slavered with butter, or spread with cream cheese.

.

:: Banana Nut Bread ::

.

Adapted from The New Best Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups (8 ounces) Whole Wheat Pastry Flour
  • 1¼ cups walnuts or pecans, toasted and chopped coarse
  • ¾ cup sucanat, rapadura, demerara or granulated sugar
  • ¾ teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 3-4  large, darkly speckled bananas, mashed well (about 1½ cups)
  • ¼ cup whole plain yogurt
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 6 tablespoons butter, melted and cooled
  • 1-2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • Extra banana, for garnish, optional

1) Preheat oven to 350° F. Grease and flour a 9×5 inch loaf pan.

2) In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking soda, salt, and nuts. In a medium bowl, mix the mashed bananas, yogurt, eggs, butter, and vanilla until well blended. Gently fold the banana mixture into the dry ingredients with a rubber spatula just until combined. Batter with be thick and chunky.

3) Scrape the batter into the prepared pan. Garnish with slices of banana if desired. Bake in preheated oven until golden brown and a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean, about 55-60 minutes.

4) Remove from oven and cool in pan for 5 minutes. Gently loosen the edges with a knife. Transfer to a wire rack. Serve warm or at room temperature.

Makes one large loaf

29 thoughts on “Banana Nut Bread

  1. Wow, your photography is stunning. It puts a lot of other food blogs to shame to see how beautifully you can depict the simple ingredients of banana bread. I hope you have a wonderful trip.

  2. Don’t even mention skiing. I’m from Denver but don’t live there now, and it kills me every single winter! I will say, though, that I LOVE your whole wheat banana nut bread. 100% you say? That’s crazy, I don’t think I’ve ever made anything with 100%, but this I will have to try.

  3. I love this recipe and will have to give it a go! My family loves banana bread without nuts but with chocolate chips. I really like the idea of adding banana slices to the top for decoration. We have our fellowship dinner after church this Sunday so I think I will make this.

    Enjoy the skiing!!

  4. Pingback: Banana Poppy Seed Bread | Cooking for Seven

  5. This is baking in my oven right this second. I made a few substitutions here and there, but the smell in my kitchen is incredible right now.

    The banana garnish idea is just lovely. 🙂

  6. Pingback: Substituting Whole Wheat Flour | Cooking for Seven

  7. I am afraid to use that much whole wheat flour. Perhaps I could try it with one cup of each to ease my way toward the whole wheat.

    I really wish I had some speckled bananas right about now.

    I have never in my long life seen bananas set on top of the bread like that.
    It’s rather ingenious.

  8. HI! Saw your recipe on Donna’s blog. I will try this. I made some banana nut bread with wheat flour for the first time a few months ago. it was so good! BUT, then i used it with a cake recipe and it was too dense for some reason; someone told me it was because i used the wheat flour. (A friend gave me the flour – she grinded it herself, so it was coarse, but still very good!)

    Nice site you have here, young lady 🙂

  9. I enjoy your website with it’s helpful recipes and everything else, however I don’t feel there is any need for your warning about the sites you listed on the side, that they may contain inappropriate language on their websites. These are very reputable sites and this only shows your prideful judgmental attitude. Just list the websites and leave it at that.

    Thank you,
    Carol

    • Carol: I’m sorry that you feel that way. I have noticed some language that I don’t agree with on the websites and just wanted to warn anyone who would be offended. I am not trying to be judgmental at all – I enjoy reading those websites, even though I come across some crude language every once in a while. I just wanted to make warning for others. 🙂

  10. Pingback: Favourite Banana Bread Recipe « Cooking with Alison

  11. Hi, just wanted to say I appreciate your warning about the other websites. I too have found some very crude language on some food and cooking related websites (totally inappropriate). I think Carol was the one being judgmental, probably because she was feeling some guilt. Yes there are people who have not developed the nasty habit of using vulgar, crude, inappropriate language and are offended by such.

  12. Pingback: Baking on a time crunch « AllThingsNest

  13. This was delicious! Thank you for both the great recipe and your site which provides an interesting perspective on life that is so different from my own.

  14. Pingback: Best Banana Bread known to Mankind | AllThingsNest

Leave a Reply

