No-Fuss Focaccia

This bread really was extremely simple to make. Just mix all ingredients for 60 seconds, scoop into a pan, let rise, and bake. The taste is excellent as well, even with my changes to the recipe (replacing half of the AP flour with whole wheat)

Confession: I had a bit of a mishap when I was mixing the dough. The recipe instructed me to mix the dough with an electric mixer. My gut told me it would be better to mix it in the stand mixer. But a recipe (especially KAF) doesn’t lie, right?

Wrong. The dough was just too much for our little electric mixer. Bits of dough flew out of the bowl and onto the floor. The mixer made noises it shouldn’t.

Not to worry! I scraped the dough into the bowl of our stand mixer and finished mixing it there.

Lesson: when cooking, listen to your gut. 🙂

The finished product reminded me of the texture of bread sticks: crispy crust, soft crumb. It’s definitely a keeper.

.

:: Focaccia ::

.

Adapted from King Arthur Flour

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups (12 ounces) warm water
3 tablespoons (1 1/4 ounces) olive oil (plus additional for drizzling)
1 1/4 teaspoons salt
1 3/4 cups All-Purpose Flour

1 3/4 cups (8 3/4 ounces) hard white wheat
1 tablespoon instant yeast
1 tablespoon onion powder (optional)

1 tablespoon dried chopped onion (optional)
pizza seasoning or dried herbs of choice, optional

Directions:

1) Lightly grease a 9″ x 13″ pan, and drizzle 1 to 2 tablespoons of olive oil in the bottom.

2) In the bowl of a stand mixer, combine all of the ingredients except the optional seasonings. Beat at medium-high speed for 60 seconds.

3) Scoop the sticky batter into the prepared pan. Cover and let it rise at room temperature for 60 minutes, till it’s become puffy. While the dough is rising, preheat the oven to 375°F.

4) Gently poke the dough all over with your index finger. Drizzle it lightly with olive oil, and sprinkle with pizza seasoning, and/or the dried herbs of your choice, if desired.

5) Bake the bread till it’s golden brown, 35 to 40 minutes. Remove from the oven. Let cool in pan 5 minutes, then turn it out of the pan onto a rack. Serve warm or at room temperature.


12 thoughts on “No-Fuss Focaccia

  1. This focaccia looks delicious! I love when a tasty recipe comes together easily. Man, focaccia is one of those breads that I can just sit down and eat–and eat–and eat. It is so good. Your description sounds fabulous; can’t wait to make this!

  2. I’ve been meaning to make homemade foccacia! Looks lovely and like something my bf would devour in seconds. And I agree with listening to your gut when cooking– very sound advice.

  3. This, looks like just the recipe I’ve been looking for. I’m terrible with making breads, but this looks awesome! Also, my mother has just given me a 9×13″ pan, and I’ve been looking for something to make in it – this is a wonderful excuse!

    (Looks like a tasty excuse too!)

  4. Oooh focaccia! I love this whenever we eat out – which is rare. This is so yummy and I had no idea it could be so easy to prepare! Instead of AP flour, I would love to add in our family’s favorite Kamut Khorasan Wheat flour!!! This is gonna be so good, thank you!

  5. Can you elaborate on combining all of the ingredients in step 2? Do you add all ingredients up to dried chopped onions? What did you use for the above?

    • I edited this post to make my meaning more clear – yes, you add all ingredients except the optional seasonings.

      It may work to use all whole wheat flour. The texture will certainly not be as light and it would probably not raise as well. Thank you for your questions!

  6. This is the first recipe I have tried from your site, and it turned out wonderful! Using my stand mixer to mix, it was super easy and “no fuss” as the recipe says. I wondered if a 9×13 pan would be too much bread for six of us at dinner, but everyone devoured it! This is definitely a keeper, thank you!

Leave a Reply

