Thai Coconut Rice

This recipe is for that special occasion when only white rice will do. Like when your sister makes the best chicken curry you’ve ever tasted.

The original recipe declared that it would serve 4. It served all seven of us with leftovers. But then, we’re not much of rice or pasta eaters. We go heavy on the sauce. However, this rice is so good it can be eaten all by itself. Which my sister and I did. πŸ˜€

.

:: Thai Coconut Rice ::

Ingredients:

2 cups medium-grain rice

2 cups regular coconut milk

1 3/4 cups water

1/2 teaspoon kosher or sea salt

1 tablespoon coconut oil

2 teaspoons maple syrup, sucanat, brown sugar, or sweetener of choice

1/2 teaspoon coconut flavoring, optional

1-2 tablespoons toasted coconut, optional

Directions:

1) In a large, deep-sided pot, melt the coconut oil over medium heat. Add the rice and cook, stirring occasionally, for about 2 minutes.

2) Add the coconut milk, water, salt, sweetener, and flavoring if using. Stir well. Bring the rice to a boil, stirring occasionally to prevent the rice from burning.

3) When it comes to a boil, reduce the heat to medium-low. Place the lid askew on the pot, allowing some of the steam to escape. Cook for 15-20 minutes, or until the rice has absorbed all (or nearly all) of the coconut-water.

4) Turn off the heat. Cover the pot tightly with the lid and allow to rest for 5-10 minutes, or until you are ready to serve. When you are ready to serve, fluff the rice with a fork or chopsticks. Top with roasted coconut if desired.

Serves 4-6


P.S. Recipes from the Party coming up next!


17 thoughts on “Thai Coconut Rice

  1. This looks so good! I love the use of the maple syrup. I must try this recipe. A friend of mine made a dish like this and added chopped fresh mango and cilantro. It was fantastic. Your photos are gorgeous!

  2. You know what’s dangerous? I have all of these ingredients in my pantry right this instant. You know what that means? My boyfriend needs to make me some awesome curry, and I need to make this rice. It sounds completely fabulous!

  3. Thank you all for your very kind comments!

    Madeline: The chopped mango and cilantro sounds delicious! I’ll have to keep that in mind next time I make this dish.

    Erica

  4. I LOVE your food pictures! They all make me hungry. πŸ™‚ Hey, are those chopsticks some that I brought back to you from Taiwan? They look faintly familiar.

  5. Pingback: Indian Chicken Curry | Cooking for Seven

  6. Thank you for this recipe! I am always looking for new things that my son can eat. He has alot of food allergies and sometimes his food is a little bland…he will absolutely LOVE this one!! : )

  7. Pingback: Menu – 1 » Food Baby Files

  8. OH this sounds delicious! We LOVE rice in our house but I haven’t made much recently! This sounds like something I will have to try for this weekend! Thank you once again.

  9. Do you have a good rice pudding recipe for the leftovers?
    I imagine I shouldn’t use a standard one since it is already sweet.

Leave a Reply

