Creamy Sweet Onion Soup

And now, for the first of the recipes from our Girl’s Party: Creamy Onion Soup.

As I browsed Tastespotting for soup, I stumbled upon this recipe. The picture looked so appetizing. I was very much tempted to make this recipe from Dutch Girl Cooking, but my sister and I were sold on the first recipe. Perhaps another time I shall make the second.

The number of onions in this recipe kinda scared me. In the end I just couldn’t bring myself to put in eight large sweet onions. I can only guess that the recipe meant eight small-medium onions.

The original recipe was not a pureed soup. For my purpose, I wanted something creamy and smooth. It was very easy to puree with a stick blender.

When we served the leftover soup to Dad, he thought it was excellent. This recipe must be good.

.

:: Creamy Sweet Onion Soup ::

Ingredients

8 or 9 small-medium or 4 large sweet onions

1 quart chicken stock

1 stick (1/2 cup) butter

3 tablespoons olive oil

1/2 gallon (8 cups) whole milk

1/2 cup all purpose flour

1 cups white cooking wine (optional)

1 heaping tablespoon Dijon mustard

1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper

kosher salt and black pepper

3 cups shredded Swiss cheese

Directions:

Melt the butter and olive oil in a heavy bottomed pot over medium high heat.ย  Peel the onions, halve them, and slice thinly. Add to the melted butter and olive oil. Don’t worry about the amount of onions. Season well with salt and pepper. Cook, stirring occasionally, for about 20-25 minutes, or until the onions begin to brown.

Add the flour and stir to cook, about three minutes. Add the wine, if using, cook, stirring, for another 3-4 minutes.

Meanwhile, in a separate pot, heat the milk until hot. Add the stock to onions. Pout in the milk. Stir well.

Increase the heat to medium high and continue to stir. Grate the cheese. When the soup is starting to bubble and thicken, reduce the heat to medium low. If desired, puree the soup with a stick blender.

Add the grated cheese a handful at a time, stirring well, until the cheese is melted and the soup is creamy. Taste the soup. Add salt and pepper to taste. Add the Dijon and the cayenne. Taste again and make any necessary adjustments. Serve hot with croutons.

Serves 8-10

8 thoughts on “Creamy Sweet Onion Soup

  1. Oh my gosh. This soup sounds divine. The title alone sounded delicious, but then, I saw your pictures…now, I’m completely smitten. I can’t wait to make this soup!

  2. This is a really interesting recipe to me. A while back a reader asked me how to make French onion soup with pureed carrots. He had fallen in love with it but the restaurant owner wouldn’t tell him how it was done. I tried just adding in carrot puree to my recipe, but the results certainly weren’t sublime. Your recipe has given me new direction. Thanks!

  3. Hey! Thanks for giving this recipe a try! I DID mean that many sweet onions….they mellow and taste fantastic. Don’t be scared! I love your idea of blending this soup! Take care! nancy@dishingup

  4. Pingback: Oversharing « Small Dog Syndrome

Leave a Reply

