Piped Deviled Eggs

dev’ il, v.t.: (from the notion of heat) to prepare (food) with seasoning, condiments, etc.

When I was a little girl, one of my favorite things to make (and one of few I was allowed to make on my own) was deviled eggs. Each time I made them I would add different spices, trying to come up with the perfect combination.

Then, about nine years later, I sank my teeth into these elegant little eggs. The flavors are excellently paired. And the pretty piping is irresistible.

According to Wiki, ‘The term “deviled” dates back to the 19th century, referring to the use of particularly hot spices in cooking.’

I prefer my eggs with slighly less kick, and this recipe delivers. If you like your eggs more devilishly hot, simply increase the spices.

.

:: Deviled Eggs ::

Ingredients:

  • 7 large eggs, hard boiled
  • 3/4 teaspoon whole-grain mustard
  • 3 tablespoons mayonnaise
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons white or red wine vinegar
  • 1/4 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
  • Salt & Pepper

Directions:

1) Peel the eggs and cut each in half lengthwise. Remove the yolks and place in a small bowl. Discard two of the most unsightly whites and arrange the remaining whites on an attractive platter.

2) Mash the yolks with a fork. Add the mustard, mayonnaise, vinegar, Worcestershire sauce, and salt & pepper to taste. Stir with a rubber spatula, mashing against the side of the bowl until smooth. Taste and adjust seasoning, if necessary.

3) Fit a pastry bag or zippered bag with a hole cut in one corner with a large star tip. Fill the bag with the yolk mixture. Pipe the whites with the yolk mixture, mounding the filling approximately 1/2 inch above the edge of the whites. If using a zippered bag, squeeze gently to pipe as the tip may pop out. Serve immediately.

Makes 1 dozen egg halves.

.In


5 thoughts on “Piped Deviled Eggs

  1. Came across this through tastespotting.. or foodgawker.. one of those. I had to comment because deviled eggs were the first things I was allowed to make in the kitchen by myself, too! I just had the funniest memory of trying to pipe the filling into the eggs when I was.. seven or eight? It was one of those cheapy hard plastic piping tools that looks like a caulking gun and a big chunk of yolk got stuck in the tip… I was an impatient kid, so I pushed even harder on the plunger and the whole thing exploded… tip flew off and everything. Oh well. Nowadays, I’ll just boil a couple eggs and make a little deviled egg treat for myself occasionally πŸ™‚

  2. That’s what happened to my sister when she attempted to pipe the eggs – pop! out came the tip.
    Lovely blog, by the way. I am now a subscriber!
    Erica

  3. Pingback: A Very Pinterest Christmas: Food, Glorious Food! | A Leap Begins

Leave a Reply

