Maple Cornbread ~ and a Giveaway!

Yankee cornbread. Slather it with butter. Pour on the maple syrup. Repeat.

This recipe is the perfect blend of sweet and nearly fluffy, and rustic and flavorful.

This cornbread has the best flavor when you use fresh ground or at least stone ground corn. However, it is still very tasty when you only have yellow cornmeal (as I did).

.

Maple Cornbread

Adapted from the King Arthur Flour Baker’s Companion

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup (4 ounces) whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 cup stone ground or yellow cornmeal
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup (8 ounces) whole milk
  • 1/4 cup (2 3/4 ounces) maple syrup
  • 6 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten

Directions:

1) Preheat the oven to 425ยฐ F. Pour 2 tablespoons of the melted butter into an 8 or 9-inch square or round baking pan.

2) In a medium mixing bowl, whisk the flour, cornmeal, baking powder, and salt. In a small bowl, whisk the milk, maple syrup, remaining butter, and eggs. Add the liquid ingredients to the dry ingredients and gently stir together just until moistened.

3) Pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake for 20-25 minutes, or until golden brown and a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean. Serve warm with butter and maple syrup.

Makes 9 servings

.

And now for the giveaway!

Here’s what you’ll win:

One lucky person will win two (2) cotton dishcloths, hand knitted by yours truly!

What makes these dishcloths so special?

They are knit with a single strand of crochet thread. That makes for a much tighter knit than regular hand knitted dishcloths. And the scrubbing power is wonderful. They take much longer to knit, but it is worth it.

.

How can you win these?


Leave a comment describing to me what you would do with this piece of cornbread. For example: would you drizzle it with honey, spread it with jam, crumble it into a soup, or chuck it out the door?


The Rules:

  • Leave a comment as described above before 11 p.m. on Monday, May 18.
  • You must leave me with a valid e-mail address.
  • Only one comment per person.
  • The winner will be chosen at random using random.org.

Good luck!

Edited Tuesday, May 19: The giveaway has ended. Thank you all for participating! The winner will be announced shortly.

33 thoughts on “Maple Cornbread ~ and a Giveaway!

  1. Wow that looks so divine! This would go great with a brunch menu. When I cook I only cook for one, so I often end up with leftovers. I would use this leftover cornbread in my sausage egg and cheese breakfast casserole in replace of cubes of stale french bread!!

  2. I would cut it up into cubes and make a savory maple cornbread bread pudding. I would a would finish it off with a crumbled bacon streusel and serve it with pan fried pork chops and a big chewy salad. Yum! I think I’ll make it for dinner tonight!

  3. I would…

    Give it to my daughter, who has a birthday this month. She LOVES my cornbread, but the last batch I made was using the recipe on the back of the cornmeal bag – a southern version, not the usual New England style. And, knowing her adoration of real maple syrup, she would devour this delicious cornbread with her favorite topping. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I absolutely loove cornbread! In fact I have a half eaten pan on my kitchen counter right now…I’ve been drizzling maple syrup on top but never thought to bake it inside! I would take a large square of the cornbread, cut it in half, toast it and top it with poached eggs hmm..maybe a fresh salsa and side of chorizo sausage!

  5. This cornbread is great. I would cut a piece in half, throw it on the grill along with a thick slab of ham and some peaches. Then I would make a deconstructed sandwich. A piece of grilled cornbread, a handful of arugula, a big piece of ham, some grilled peaches cut into slices, maybe some goat cheese and then a big drizzle of honey or maybe syrup.

  6. I would serve with your “style”, and also give the option to have it with honey. But, I’m serving it to go with my navy/white beans and hamhocks.

  7. I have been looking around for a good cornbread recipe and found your webpage (great pictures, too). This looks great – I have a jar of real maple syrup sitting in the fridge waiting to get used up. I would eat this cornbread with a large batch of my chili: I cook it up over three hours or so, with black beans, navy beans, and kidney beans, and corn and browned meat, plus a handful of secret spices (but it includes some chili pepper flakes fried up with the onions, and cumin). I don’t make small batches of chili. I would serve the chili up to about seven or eight people with this cornbread to dip up the yummy juices.

  8. I usually eat cornbread for dessert or as a snack– I can enjoy the flavor more when my tastebuds don’t have stronger flavors to contend with. So, I’d snack on a hefty portion, warm from the oven and slathered with cold butter, while reading a good book.

    Gotta say, I’m a little worried that maybe the maple syrup might end up overpowering the delicious corniness of the bread, but I’m sure you know what you’re talking about ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Ooh, I know exactly what I want to do with your delicious cornbread, and that would be to take a nice big piece of it, dripping with honey, and go out back in my rocking chair to watch the sunset!

  10. I would hug it ever so tightly, and eat it bit by bit with each passing day ever so dearly, because I have never (and I have no idea why!!!) had any cornbread in my life! And yours look ever so tempting ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. That looks very good. I always like cornbread made in a cast iron skillet. You warm the skillet in the oven with butter, then coat the inside of the pan with the melted butter, pour the extra into your batter, and then pour the batter in the hot skillet and put it back in the oven to cook. It gives it a nice crisp crust, which I love.

  12. Oh my, this look so good. Your food always looks good, because you know your lighting and photography really well. I wish I knew how you took your pictures, cause I love photography as well and just wish I understand how to do it all!

    Okay, okay, about the cornbread. I want to slather it with butter and eat it with a nice big bowl of beef stew! That sounds so very good right now!

    And the email addy is maid2praiz [at] gmail [dot] com

    Thanks for the opportunity! Your knitting is lovely too. I have sisters who crochet, and do occasional knitting, but I never picked up on the craft…. [I sew clothes…]

    Blessings!
    RUth Ann

  13. Hi Erica!
    I would probably give the piece to my sister Karen who really likes cornbread. I am not a cornbread lover and have come across many a dry and crumbly cornbread in my day.
    I will have to give your recipe a try and see if it changes my opinion on cornbread.
    By the way, I would love the pair of dish rags made by your very talented hands to scrub my growing pile of dirty dishes.
    ~Krista

  14. Well, If I had a piece of cornbread that looked THAT good, (does CookingForSeven.com have a designated food-makeup artist in the studio?) I definitely wouldn’t eat it. I would take pictures of it and post it on my website, and ask everyone else what THEY would do with it. I’ve never liked corn in bread much before, but I do like corn-on-the.com. The only danger I see with posting pictures of such beautiful cornbread on a public site is that it might end up the victim of a corn stalk.

  15. Oh man, maple and corn together is one heady combo! I’d toast some pecans, coz you just can’t have maple without pecans, right? I’d drizzle some warm, fudgy chocolate sauce over the bread and top it up with the toasted pecans for a lovely satisfying breakfast accompanied by gorgeous, creamy coffee!

  16. Hi ya!
    This is the time of year we really start craving corn bread around here and is why I had to check out this recipe of yours.
    Looks like a good one…oh and your photography throughout the sight is wonderful.
    I just wanted to chime in and say we often crumble our corn bread on chili or just pour the chili over it!
    Have a wonderful last day of summer!

  17. Pingback: Cornbread, Old & New | Cooking for Seven

  18. Pingback: November Weekend at a Glance | One day of many with Joshua & Debbie

  19. Just found your blog! Printed off a bunch of recipes to try already! Love that you have cornbread and syrup on here! When we were little my Dad would be in charge of breakfast on the weekend for us 7 kids and my mom…he either made french toast or cornbread with syrup!

Leave a Reply

