Rijsttafel – Rice Table

It has been over a week since my last post. There has been a lot on my plate lately, and I have had so little time for blogging.

But I have something delicious cooking.

Until next time, I leave you with this set of photos. I’ve been meaning to share it with you for quite some time, but never got around to it.

To read more about the traditional Indonesian feast (Rijsttafel) click here.

To enter the gallery, click here or on the photo below.

.

rice-table

7 thoughts on “Rijsttafel – Rice Table

  1. I wanted to go to an Indonesian Rijsttafel when I was in Amsterdam so badly but I was with two friends that thought they were too expensive. Amsterdam is supposed to have great Indonesian rijsttafels. Yours looks like so much fun!

  2. We, had a classy quality Indonesian Rijstaafel Restaurant fo 26 years on
    the island of Sint Maarten (netherlands antillies)
    We were very happy as our restaurant was a very excellent place
    for dining.
    We do not have the restaurant no more but I still accept some
    special Rijsttafel order at any place in the world.
    If you are interested please let me know 5995 4525186
    Thank You, Edu

  3. Hi Erica,

    I’m Indonesian, so happy to read this post of yours.
    Please do try another Indonesian recipes, you’ll love it!!

    So you made the beef satay, most of Indonesians eat chicken or lamb satay with its peanut sauce & soy sauce.. ooh yumm!

    And as for the corn cake, add more of celery in it.. to add more taste into it!!

    Selamat makan (bon a petite)!!
    Terima kasih (thank you).

  4. My parents took our family to Europe way back in ’84. We used Rick Steve’s travel info and found this terrific mom and pop restaurant in Amsterdam. I had the best meal of my life (Rijsttafel). Though I love Mexican dishes, nothing will compare to that meal. Wish I could find a video of how to pull one of these off for my family! Doing one or two dishes is not so difficult, but the whole rijsttafel experience is missing.

    Note – I’m a missionary in Haiti so finding a restaurant is out of the question. Goat meat is available. How can I pull off a multi-platter true rijsttafel for my family on my own? Going to try this recipe. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

