Macadamia Brownies and a Review

A few weeks ago, I learned about Superior Nut: a company started in 1929 that provides gourmet nuts, dried fruits, and chocolates. They showed an interest in my blog, and graciously sent me a sampling of their nuts to taste and review.

What initially impressed me about the nuts was the size – larger than most that I normally find at the supermarket. The flavor and texture of the nuts are very good. It was hard to keep from munching on them before this review was finished. *Blushes*

These roasted tamari almonds are made with organic, wheat free soy sauce which is slowly fermented over two summers! They make a delicious snack.

The very kind people over at Superior Nut sent me so many delicious nuts that it was very hard for me to decide what to make with them. I wasn’t very familiar with cooking with macadamia nuts, but I have always been slightly fascinated with them. So I decided to try them!

Am I glad I did! These brownies were about the best I’ve ever made. The macadamia nuts were mild enough not to detract from the chocolate flavor yet tasty enough to add a special touch. Of course, you could substitute any other kind of nut you wish, but I highly recommend macadamia nuts.

m

 

Macadamia Nut Brownies

Adapted from Betty Crocker

Ingredients:

  • 4 ounces unsweetened chocolate
  • 2/3 cup butter
  • 2 cup sugar
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup chopped roasted and salted macadamia nuts plus extra for garnish (optional)

Directions:

1) Preheat oven to 350° F. Butter a 13×9×2-inch baking pan.

2) Melt the chocolate and butter in a large heavy bottomed saucepan over low heat, stirring frequently to make sure the chocolate doesn’t burn. Mix in sugar, eggs, and vanilla. Stir in flour, baking powder, salt, and nuts. Spread in pan. Sprinkle with remaining nuts.

3) Bake in preheated oven for approximately 30 minutes, or until the brownies begin to pull away from the sides of the pans. Do not overbake. Remove from oven and cool slightly. Cut into bars and serve warm or at room temperature. Store in an airtight container.

Makes approximately 24 bars

 

m

I have so many delicious nuts that I may have to share another recipe with you…

 

 

 

 

17 Responses to “Macadamia Brownies and a Review”

  1. Thanks for the great review! I hadn’t heard about the company, they sound great!! Nothing like some quality nuts!
    I love the addition of the mac nuts to the brownies! Deliciously gorgeous!!! :)

  2. Meeta says:

    these look absolutely lovely. i really love macadamia nuts so i have to give this a go!

  3. zarpandit says:

    macadamia nut yess i love it!
    i’m gonna try it !

  4. Brandi says:

    It says melt chocolate and shortening, but I’m not sure how much shortening.

  5. Erica says:

    Oops! I meant to say butter instead of shortening. Thanks for the heads up – I made the correction.

  6. emily says:

    Yum! These look so good. I have LOVED macadamia nuts this summer.

  7. Malin says:

    I believe you when you say these are the best brownies you’ve ever made! They look amazing with all those nuts!

  8. Karine says:

    I have never tried macademia in brownies, but it looks delicious! Thanks for sharing your recipe!

  9. Karly says:

    These look positively delicious. My husband loves macadamia nuts and I’m sure he’d love these brownies!

  10. Ro says:

    I am new to your blog–I love it. All your food looks so yummy. I love the fact that you use chip beef jars for milk glasses, too. My family does the ame thing. I saw those stars along the top, and I had to comment!!

  11. Ro says:

    I am new to your blog–I love it. All your food looks so yummy. I love the fact that you use chip beef jars for milk glasses, too. My family does the same thing. I saw those stars along the top, and I had to comment!!

  12. Amy says:

    These look absolutely delicious!

  13. Iris says:

    I stumbled upon this wonderful recipe and I though: I have to try it!
    They really look delicious… ^^
    I do have a question about the recipe though: you say you have to use “chopped roasted and salted macadamia nuts”, is it mandatory that the nuts are salted??
    I don’t know, I have used regular nuts before to make brownies and they weren’t salted so it seemed a little weird to me…
    Thanks in advance ;)

  14. Erica Lea says:

    Iris: I’m sure it would be fine with unsalted nuts, the flavor would just be a bit different.

  15. Jamie says:

    I don’t know why I haven’t seen your blog until now, but I had to say that these look magnificent (the nuts AND the brownies) and I can’t wait to give it a go.
    Thanks for the recipe. I love macadamia nuts.

  16. […] Macadamia Nut Brownies […]

Leave a Reply

