Indian Chicken Curry

My introduction to curry was early on in my life. Mom made the “Chicken Hurry Curry” recipe found on the back of the chicken package. I don’t remember ever disliking curry, though I was probably a bit skeptical when Mom first set it before us.

Now we simply adore curries. I enjoy both the Indian and Thai versions. I love the thick, spicy Indian curries, but I really like the coconut flavors in the Thai curries.

Here is our current favorite recipe. I’m not sure if the title is correct – it seems to be a blend of Indian and Thai curry. It can be quite spicy, which pleases Dad. If you prefer a milder curry, reduce the amount of spices. But you will be missing out!

This curry is very good served with Thai Coconut Rice.

m

Indian Chicken Curry

From All Recipes

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup and 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 small onions, chopped
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup and 2 tablespoons curry powder
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon (I prefer to leave out the cinnamon)
  • 2 teaspoons paprika
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 teaspoon grated fresh ginger root
  • 1 teaspoon sweetener of choice (I like maple syrup)
  • salt to taste
  • 4 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves – cut into bite-size pieces
  • 2 tablespoons tomato paste
  • 2 cups plain yogurt
  • 1-1/2 cups coconut milk
  • 1 lemon, juiced (I like to use lime juice as well)
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper

Directions:

1) Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Saute onion until lightly browned. Stir in garlic, curry powder, cinnamon (if using) paprika, bay leaf, ginger, sweetener and salt. Continue stirring for 2 minutes.

2) Add chicken pieces, tomato paste, yogurt, and coconut milk. Bring to a boil. Remove from heat. Stir in lemon juice and cayenne pepper and remove bay leaf. Serve immediately.

I like to serve with fish sauce, toasted coconut, and red curry paste.


17 Responses to “Indian Chicken Curry”

  1. Muneeba says:

    That curry looks luscious! Love the use of coconut milk in it.

  2. gaga says:

    I love sopping up the sauce with a nice big piece of naan. Looks fantastic!

  3. Susan Parkinson says:

    This was DELICIOUS – my son made it substituting yogurt with cream. Am going to try it again with shrimp instead of chicken!

  4. […] other night I finally had time to prepare dinner. Aloo Gobi? But but but… I also found a Chicken Curry recipe that sounded equally delicious and easy to […]

  5. Jenny S says:

    Hi,
    Just found your site through another blog I enjoy reading. I just love the fact you love to cook at your age. I think its just great. I can’t wait to try this curry chicken recipe. I’m just wondering though, I noticed your recipe and the one on allrecipes is a little different, as far as quantities. Did you change your quantities because you tried theirs and it just wasn’t quite right, or what? I printed off allrecipes recipe, only because they had a ‘print’ button but I want to try yours! I love making rice with coconut milk, so can’t wait to try this curry dish. Keep up the great work! Jenny

  6. Erica Lea says:

    Jenny:

    Yes, I doubled the recipe from allrecipes – we need to make that much to feed our family! I don’t think I changed anything except where noted. I would eventually like to have a “print” option for all of my recipes.

    Yes, coconut rice is so good! Thanks so much for your encouragement!

  7. jenny says:

    Oh I can’t believe I didn’t notice recipe was just doubled! geez. Anyway, thanks, I’m making this for my husband and I tonight.

  8. […] other night I finally had time to prepare dinner. Aloo Gobi? But but but… I also found a Chicken Curry recipe that sounded equally delicious and easy to […]

  9. […] RACKABLE SYSTEMS QUEST SOFTWARE […]

  10. Stephanie says:

    can’t wait to make this one. I *LOVE* Indian food. YUMO! Thanks for sharing

  11. […] RESEARCH SYSTEMS F5 NETWORKS EPICOR SOFTWARE […]

  12. Jen M. says:

    My husband and I have made this recipe twice and LOVE it! We finally feel like we don’t have to go out to find great ethnic food. There’s just something about Indian food that warms the soul! I found your recipe linked from gojee.com and so glad that I did. Thank you for sharing it! It’s now saved to my favorites on the site!

  13. Faina says:

    Is there a particular curry powder that you recommend, or a type of curry – madras, etc? Thanks

  14. […] Indian chicken curry, naan, sauteed spinach, sparkling […]

  15. […] curry, we adapted a recipe I bookmarked from Cooking for Seven to make a delicious chicken […]

  16. Melissa N says:

    I have been making a recipe similar to this for a couple of years. For my family- it is our favorite comfort food. We don’t have Naan here…so I use flour tortillas….its so yummy!

    One thing I will suggest, which I never did until someone told me that they had this at an Indian restaurant….they served it with a lime wedge and some chopped cilantro. I have loved this recipe for ever, but when I tried it with the fresh lime juice and cilantro and unsweetened coconut on top…..OHHHH my! That made it AMAZING! WOW! Just try it! Love your site! Found it from Pioneer woman! Im gonna work my way through all of these delicious recipes!

Leave a Reply

