Daring Bakers, August 2009: Dobos Torte

The August 2009 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Angela of A Spoonful of Sugar and Lorraine of Not Quite Nigella. They chose the spectacular Dobos Torte based on a recipe from Rick Rodgers’ cookbook Kaffeehaus:  Exquisite Desserts from the Classic Caffés of Vienna, Budapest, and Prague.

I have wanted to make a many-layered cake ever since I saw a picture in a DK Geographybook a few years ago. I searched the internet for a recipe, but couldn’t find one to my satisfaction.

I don’t believe that I am completely satisfied with this recipe (or my execution of it). The components were delicious. Vanilla sponge cake and deep dark chocolate buttercream frosting. How could I go wrong?

I totally ruined the caramel topping.

I didn’t cook the caramel nearly enough, so it seeped into the spongy cake and the topping was a soggy (yes, SOGGY) layer of lemon-flavored cake. Ah well, better luck next time. We just picked off the top layer and enjoyed the rest of the cake (with ice cream).

Now I’m dreaming of making a crepe cake. My sister Amanda (whom I thank for all of her help with making this challenge and whose feet you see in the above photo) has agreed to help me with that project. She informed me that she would go crazy if she took it on solo.

If you would like to try this recipe for Dobos Torte yourself, here is a link to the pdf file. Good luck!


9 Responses to “Daring Bakers, August 2009: Dobos Torte”

  1. Angelica says:

    Beautiful cake ..=) I love your last photo fantastic.

  2. Meeta says:

    I ruined my first caramel layer too! but kudos for doing this!

  3. Looks great. I love that you are baking for the whole family.

  4. Lan says:

    i ruined my caramel too, it seemed into the layer and got soggy. i didn’t bother adding it to the end product, i just broke off the caramel bits.

    the addition of the raspberries add such color to the cake!

  5. Peggy in Alaska says:

    OH your cake is beautiful! It is remniscient of the cakes of my childhood. We lived in Germany from kindergarten to halfway through 7th grade (other than 18 monthes spent in LA.) My favorite growing up was made with a chocolate sponge cake, chocolate ganache layers, and a chocolate glaze adorned w/ fresh raspberries and thin trinangles across the top! You have inspired me to try this cake. It looks like a nice “just letting you know you’re special” cake!!

    I also wanted to say thank you for the fine blog that you do! My family enjoys so many of the recipes and we now use your pizza sauce recipe exclusively! The guys say thank also!!

  6. Peggy in Alaska says:

    I just tried the link to the Dobos torte and it came up as being corrupted. Help!

    Thank you.

  7. Ellie says:

    Gorgeous cake! I ruined the caramel too. Blame it on the lemon juice :p

  8. Erica says:

    Peggy: I am so very pleased that you enjoy my recipes!

    Hmmm…the link works fine for me. Here’s a link to a non-pdf recipe:
    Sugar Crafter

    And another:
    Pastry Pal

    Hope that helps!

  9. […] de aki lehagyta a karamellt, a torta legjobb részét hagyta ki. Renitensek málnát (1, 2) is tettek a tortára, de a legelvontabb változat a málna-vanília, a teás, az áfonyás, […]

Leave a Reply

