Winter Squash Pie & Whole Wheat Pie Crust

We have had a wonderful crop of squash this year. I love lightly sweetened squashed, baked with crunchy pecans,  then smothered with butter to serve. Or butternut squash soup. But for my first squash creation of the year, I decided to make pie.

10-5-09n2

This pie came together almost effortlessly, even with all of my usual (somewhat crazy yet healthy) substitutions. Of course I didn’t want to sweeten my pie with white sugar, so I used maple syrup instead and reduced the cream by 1/4 cup. For the crust, I just couldn’t stand to use all white flour, so my sister used half whole wheat.

Speaking of the crust, this is my new favorite recipe. No rolling required, and the result is a crispy, tasty crust. My “healthy” version appears below the pie recipe.

The most rewarding thing about this pie was Dad’s reaction. He doesn’t really like pumpkin pie, but he loved this one. The crust was just to his liking, and when I mentioned that the texture could be a little smoother for my tastes, he disagreed. Is there any better reward for cooking?

Winter Squash Pie

Printable Page

Adapted from Taste of Home

Ingredients

  • 1 cup pure maple syrup
  • 1 cup cooked winter squash, mashed with a little cream or milk
  • 3/4 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 3 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg (I reduced this to 1/8 because Dad dislikes nutmeg)
  • Dash salt
  • 1 unbaked pastry shell (recipe below)
  • Whipped cream

Directions

1) In a bowl, combine the first eight ingredients.
2)Pour into the pastry shell; bake at 375° for 10 minutes. Reduce heat to 350°; bake for 45 minutes or until set. Cool on a wire rack. Serve warm, at room temperature, or chilled.Garnish with pie crust leaves and whipped cream.

Yield: 8 servings.

Whole Wheat No-Roll Pie Crust

Adapted from Joy the Baker

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 Tablespoons sugar
  • 1/8 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 cup (4 Tablespoon) frozen butter that has been grated on a cheese grater
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil (I used gently melted coconut oil)
  • 1 Tablespoon cream cheese, at room temperature
  • 2-3 Tablespoons cold milk

In a medium sized bowl combine flour, salt, baking powder and sugar.  Whisk together.

Add frozen grated butter and cream cheese.  With your fingers, work the cream cheese and butter into the flour mixture, breaking the butter and cream cheese up until they’re well incorporated into the flour.  Some butter bits will be tiny, others the size of small pebbles.  The dough may even begin to come together in a rough, sandy kind of way.

Combine the milk and oil.  Whisk together.  Add all at once to the flour and butter mixture.  With a fork, begin to combine the ingredients, making sure that all of the flour mixture is introduced to the liquid.  The mixture does not need to come together into a ball.  Leave it a bit shaggy and dump the dough into a clean 9-inch pie plate.  With your fingers,  press the dough evenly into the bottom of the pie plate and up the sides.  Try to get the dough as even as possible, but don’t worry too much about finger indentations.  You can’t fight that.

Place the prepared crust in the freezer while you preheat the oven and prepare your filling.  If you’re going to pre-bake your crust, heat the oven to 350 degrees F and line the chilled pie crust with foil, weigh down with beans, and bake for 10 minutes, covered.  Remove the foil and beans and bake for 4-6 minutes uncovered until golden brown.

If you need an unbaked pie crust, simply remove the crust from the freezer once your filling is made, fill your pie and place in a preheated oven.  Bake according to recipe.

Yield: One 9-inch pie crust

10-5-09n3


12 Responses to “Winter Squash Pie & Whole Wheat Pie Crust”

  1. what an absolutely gorgeous pie! i’m so glad the crust worked out for you! and i’m glad it got dad’s stamp of approval! bravo lady. well done!

  2. redmenace says:

    This looks fabulous!!!! I never thought about making squash pie, but why not combine these great ingredients together? Thanks!

  3. OH MY GOSH this looks AMAZING!!!!!!! Great job!! I love that you made a whole wheat crust too, cant wait to make this!

  4. […] turns cold, I rejoice! And I get an itch to bake delicious, sweet things. Like these muffins. And this […]

  5. PattyK says:

    Erica,

    Your pie sounds as if it tastes delicious. To avoid the bubbles on the top, mix with a spoon only til combined. To avoid the cracks on the top, don’t “insert knife to test” like a lot of recipes say. You may want to bake it a little less time, too. We eat with our eyes, too!

  6. […] Winter Squash Pie with whole wheat crust. […]

  7. Kate says:

    Hello Erica,

    I’m a new reader, enjoying looking back through some old posts of yours, and this pie looks lovely. I was wondering, could you tell me where or how you make the little leaves of pastry on top? Is there some kind of cutter you use?
    I’m glad to have found your blog and look forward to reading further:)

  8. Erica Lea says:

    Kate: My mom picked up a set of leaf cookie cutters someplace – couldn’t tell you where. :)We simply cut them out and placed them on a cookie sheet. They take around 10-15 minutes to bake – make sure to watch carefully so they don’t burn!

  9. John Hoffoss says:

    Awesome recipe. I made it once with apple syrup from a local orchard instead of maple syrup, and that had a great flavor. I made one tonight with a different kind of squash but I was out of syrup, so I used one T of raw sugar and two T of dark brown sugar. I’ll use two more T of dk bar next time, but awesome otherwise–cool, slightly sweet but not quite savory flavor.

    The pie crust recipe is a knock-out too. I used all whole-wheat pastry/bread flour and a touch extra of all the wet ingredients. This crust turns out well if you just use a pastry knife with chilled butter rather than grated frozen butter, FYI.

  10. […] week.  For my pie, I’ll probably use a combination of that recipe and a couple of others:  Winter Squash Pie and Acorn Squash […]

  11. Your “no roll” pie crust is genius. I found an amazing whole wheat pie crust recipe- only ingredients are ice water, whole wheat pastry flour, cold butter and salt… and it’s amazing every time I make it but I’m terrible at rolling & getting it successfully into the pie plate. It usually ends in tears. Haha.

    I’ve gotta try this one! I bet the cream cheese makes the flavor incredible!

Leave a Reply

