Apple Muffins

I am  definitely a Minnesota girl. When the weather turns cold, I rejoice! And I get an itch to bake delicious, sweet things. Like these muffins. And this pie.

10-7-09n3

Our apples didn’t do so well this year. There were quite a few deformed apples, but I am thankful for what we did get! It is so nice to be able to munch on an apple whenever I wish.

These muffins have a lovely blend of flavors. Chunky apple pieces, nutty whole wheat flour, LOTS of cinnamon (1 whole tablespoon), and crunchy sugar granules on top.

“Do these have the same ingredients as apple crisp?” my brother asked.

They do resemble that delicious dessert.

Whole Wheat Apple Muffins

Printable Page

Adapted from Smitten Kitchen

2 cups (8 ounces) whole wheat pastry flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon cinnamon
1/2 cup (1 stick, 4 ounces) unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 cup demerara sugar, sucanat, or rapaduradivided
1 large egg, lightly beaten
1 cup (8 ounces) buttermilk or yogurt
2 large apples, peeled, cored, and coarsely chopped

1) Preheat the oven to 450°F. Grease and flour or line with paper muffin cups 14 muffin cups and set aside.

2) Mix together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon, and set aside. In a separate bowl, cream the butter and add 3/4 cup of the sweetener of choice. Beat until fluffy. Add the egg and mix well; stop once to scrape the sides and bottom of the bowl. Mix in the buttermilk gently. (If you over-mix, the buttermilk will cause the mixture to curdle.) Stir in the dry ingredients and fold in the apple chunks.

2) Divide the batter evenly among the prepared muffin cups, sprinkling the remaining 1/4 cup of sugar on top. Bake for 10 minutes, turn the heat down to 400°F, and bake for an additional 5 to 10 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of a muffin comes out clean. Cool the muffins for 5 minutes in the tin, then turn them out onto a wire rack to cool completely. Serve warm with butter.

Yield: 12-14 muffins


Subscribe to my RSS feed. ~ Get email updates. ~ Twitter. ~ Facebook. 

  1. Niki says:

    These look delicious! I can’t wait to try them! I’m always looking for more apple recipes this time of year, so when I have 30 lbs of apples from the orchard, I can make looks of delicious apple goodies! Thanks!

  2. Catarina says:

    Hello Erica,

    I just made these muffins to serve at a Moms breakfast. They were so simple to make and really tasty! Of course I had to taste one, my husband also tasted on and said they were good and he’s a tough critic!

    I did think it was too much apple but not so, and mine almost turned out as pretty as the one in the picture.

    Looking forward to trying more of your recipes.

    Catarina

  3. Pierrette says:

    Just made these some of the best apple muffins I have ever made thank you for sharing the recipe.

  4. Polprav says:

    Hello from Russia!
    Can I quote a post in your blog with the link to you?

  5. Erica says:

    Go right ahead! All I ask is that you link either to the post or to my blog.

    Have a great day!

  6. […] Apple Muffins from Cooking for Seven  Print This Post  • Subscribe •  E-mail this Leave a Comment […]

  7. JeniQ says:

    I’m wondering if you could incorporate pumpkin puree into the muffins. What do you think?

  8. Erica says:

    JeniQ: That might work — you could replace some of the butter of buttermilk with pumpkin puree. It you replaced the buttermilk with the puree, you would have to make sure to increase the leavener because the buttermilk reacts with the baking soda.

    You might try adding puree then increasing the flour accordingly.

    I have no idea if it would result in muffins anywhere near scrumptious, but it may be worth a try! Good luck!

  9. […] Tartlets from Confessions of a Tart, Raspberry and White Chocolate Cupcakes from Cook Sister!, Whole Wheat Apple Muffins from Cooking for Seven, White Russian Cupcakes from Cute and Delicious, Chambord Candy Apple […]

  10. […] Tartlets from Confessions of a Tart, Raspberry and White Chocolate Cupcakes from Cook Sister!, Whole Wheat Apple Muffins from Cooking for Seven, White Russian Cupcakes from Cute and Delicious, Chambord Candy Apple […]

  11. Eleanor says:

    These muffins are great! I try to eat vegan so I substituted the egg for a cup and 1/2 of homemade apple sauce and soy yogurt, they turned out super moist and really yummy! Thanks so much for posting this recipe :)

  12. Sarah says:

    Ahh! Thank you so much for this! I was just looking at the original recipe for these muffins on Smitten Kitchen and was pondering if I could substitiute Whole wheat flour and sucanat for white flour and sugar. These are great and super delicious!

  13. Erin Mowry says:

    Hi! I made these muffins this morning and they were DELISH!! I used white whole wheat flour and I only had 1/2 cup buttermilk so I substituted the other half with applesauce. The muffins were so moist and appley! I love them! You have a lovely blog and I will be following on Google Reader.

    Erin {erinink.etsy.com}

  14. Shawna says:

    I don’t have the type of sugar it calls for can I substitute something else? I do have pearl sugar. I would love to make these I live on the big island of Hawaii and finally found the pastry flour by the pound here and don’t want to special order the sugar. Since I have the buttermilk to use up today and it costs almost $4 for the small carton here. Thanks for the recipe it looks so good I love your site and look forward to each new recipe. Shawna Niles

  15. Shawna says:

    Erica I forgot to tell you I love your muffin tin. Shawna Niles

  16. Erica Lea says:

    Shawna: You can go ahead and use any “solid” sweetener you wish. Regular sugar or brown sugar should work fine. Thank you – those tins are pretty cute. :)

  17. Ansley says:

    These are so good! There are some underweight people in my family that I’ve been trying to help fatten up, and these are a perfect healthy treat for me to keep making them. I used Greek yogurt instead of buttermilk, and I think that made the batter more dry than it would be with buttermilk. I just added some milk until the batter looked slightly wet like your example picture, and they turned out perfectly moist! My husband loved them! We were recently married too, so thanks for giving me a recipe to impress him with! :)

  18. […] Apple Cinnamon Muffins (adapted from Cooking for Seven) […]

  19. Jessica says:

    Love Love these!! They are going to become a favorite around here. I love that they are relatively low in sugar….at least compared to other recipes I found. So yummy!!!

  20. Katie says:

    Erica, these are the best muffins I’ve ever had or made!! I ate 4 of them right out of the oven! I will definitely make these again; in fact, I’ll be making them in just a few more days for my house-guests. Thanks for sharing the recipe! God bless! :-)

  21. Kassie says:

    Hi Erica,

    Just a question – would you ever consider posting the calories per serving of the things you make? I love to bake too but am also trying to count calories! Not that things have to be low fat, but then it is easier to keep track if we know how many calories are in something. Maybe too much to do, but just a suggestion. Thanks for the great recipe!

    :) Kassie

  22. Erica Lea says:

    Kassie: Good suggestion! Calorie counting isn’t really the focus of my blog, but I totally understand the need to know that info. :) Maybe someday I’ll feel the need to include that info with each post, but for now I like to keep is simpler. :) You can calculate the calories in any of my recipes using this handy tool: {link}

  23. Lorlyn says:

    These are so good! I made these this morning and my 5 year old daughter totally love them. It is just the right amount of sweetness. I used 1/2 cup of buttermilk and 1/2 cup of Greek yogurt.
    Thank you for sharing the recipe!

  24. Erica Lea says:

    Lorlyn: Hmmm…the Greek yogurt sounds lovely. So pleased you enjoyed the muffins!

  25. Jeffery says:

    Thank you for posting this recipe! It was passed on to me by a friend, and it’s delightful. I just made up two batches (one with Gala apples and one with Granny Smith) to share at my university choir practice and my Bible study group. It’ll definitely be a go-to recipe in the future for me. :)

    https://secure.flickr.com/photos/ffejery/8539145388/in/photostream
    Bonus photo ^

  26. Jeffery says:

    Erica, the link you provide to the Printable version on Google Docs isn’t publicly accessible. Could you fix that when you get a moment, please? :)

Leave a Reply

