Transitional Country Hearth Bread

 

10-14-09n4

Last year, my sister Janna gave me Peter Reinhart’s Whole Grain Breads for Christmas. I haven’t baked very many loaves yet, but the ones I have tried have been very tasty.

10-14-09n8

Hearth Breads are baked directly on the hearth (without a pan) to create a nice, crispy crust. I baked mine in a very hot oven on a stone.

As with most of Peter Reinhart’s breads, the dough was soaked overnight to produce superior flavor. There are only a few tablespoons of non soaked grains in this bread.

10-14-09n7

I must confess that this bread was nearly a disaster. When I scored the risen dough, it deflated pitifully. Then, when I attempted to transfer the loaf from the pizza peel to the oven, it slipped onto the floor. Not to be daunted, I simply picked up the lump of dough, placed it back on the pizza peel, transferred it to the stone, and shut the door, hoping it would regain it’s height in the oven.

Thankfully, the dough rose very nicely in the oven. I am quite pleased with this recipe and hope that next time I bake something from Whole Grain Breads I will not have quite so many mishaps.

 

10-14-09n2

This is my entry for World Bread Day.

Here is the roundup


5 Responses to “Transitional Country Hearth Bread”

  1. Bridget says:

    I recently got this book, and I’ve been really impressed with it. I’ve made the hearth bread a couple times with good results, and I just enjoyed the pizza dough tonight (plus a whole wheat bagel this morning)!

  2. Karly says:

    I really need to get that book. I’ve heard some great things about it. Your bread looks yummy, even with the bits of dirt from the floor. ;) Kidding! I’m a big fan of the 5 second rule around here!

  3. zorra says:

    Gosh, one can not see that the dough had such a rough time. ;-) The bread looks gorgeous.

    Thank you for your participation in World Bread Day 2009. Yes you baked! :-)

  4. Lavie says:

    oooo! this looks lovely!

  5. Love that yummy looking bread!
    Come over to our blog and receive an award from us!

Leave a Reply

