Whole Wheat Buttermilk Biscuits

1-14-10n1

Here is my current favorite whole wheat biscuit recipe. We love to use them for biscuits and gravy. Delicious!

Note: I usually significantly reduce the amount of buttermilk. I’m not sure why, but these always turn out very wet for me. I recommend that you start with less buttermilk and add more as needed.

.

Whole Wheat Buttermilk Biscuits

From Relish Magazine

Printable Version

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups (8 oz) whole-wheat pastry flour, divided
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
  • 6 tablespoons cold butter, cut into small pieces
  • 3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons buttermilk, plus more if needed

Directions:

Preheat oven to 450° F.

To mix using a food processor:

1) Place 1 3/4 cups of the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in food processor fitted with the metal blade and process briefly to combine. Add the butter and toss lightly with a fork to coat the butter with flour. Using 1 second pulses, mix the butter until it resembles course meal. Do not over-mix.

2) Transfer the flour mixture to a bowl. Add 3/4 cup buttermilk; stir with a fork until the dough gathers into one large lump. Add more buttermilk if necessary.

To mix by hand:

1) In a medium bowl, whisk together 1 3/4 cups flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Add the butter and toss lightly with a fork to coat the butter with flour. Using a pastry cutter, a fork, two knives, or your fingertips, cut the butter into the flour. Work quickly to keep the butter firm.

2) Add 3/4 cup buttermilk; stir with a fork until the dough gathers into one large lump. Add more buttermilk if necessary.

Continue for either version:

3) Transfer dough to a flat surface sprinkle with remaining 1/4 cup flour. Roll the dough to coat with flour then pat out into a rough rectangle about 1/2-inch thick and fold into thirds. Repeat the patting and rolling. Pat the dough out to a thickness of about 1 inch. Using a 2-inch round cutter, cut out biscuits and place onto an ungreased baking sheet, placing the biscuits 1 inch apart as they will spread.

4) Bake 10-12 minutes or until the biscuits are golden brown.

Makes about 12 biscuits

.

 

9 Responses to “Whole Wheat Buttermilk Biscuits”

  1. Lauren says:

    Buttermilk biscuits sound dreamy! Yum =D.

  2. JC says:

    These were amazing and very easy. I used earth balance rather than butter. I used the entire amount of buttermilk. Different kinds of buttermilk have different amounts of moisture. Different flours also may absorb different amounts, and it also depends on how it’s measured out… too bad the recipe isn’t by weight.

    I also added a good amount of finely grated pecorino romano cheese (we had picked up a block that was very dry, and this was a perfect use for it). I didn’t have a round cutter so just cut them into triangles and kind of squished them into roundish biscuits. I put them on an insulated tray and they came out perfect after 13 minutes.

    Thanks for posting this.

  3. […] Whole Wheat Buttermilk Biscuits […]

  4. jana says:

    I have searched every store in vegas for whole wheat pastry flour and have asked for it and no one can tell me if they have it , They always say they have whole wheat flour but don’t know there is a difference . I know it must be soft wheat instead of hard wheat flour. So do you have any idea where to find it? thanks, jana

  5. Erica Lea says:

    jana: You can purchase it online here and here. Sometimes they have it in health food stores. We always bought the wheat berries and ground the flour ourselves. Hope that helps!

  6. Wow Erica, again I’m impressed by- & trust your recipes! You’re my go-to recipe girl! I am almost 100% switched over to whole wheat everything now, and I love it! My best friend from Ohio has a whole wheat pastry/pie crust recipe that she’s going to share with me… If it works out I’ll share it with you… Cause I know you said you couldn’t find one. (I couldn’t, either!)

  7. Erica Lea says:

    Brittany: So glad these worked out for you! They’re one of my favorites. :) Yes, if the pie crust works out for you, I’d be happy to try the recipe – still haven’t found a fail-proof one for whole wheat!

  8. […] test out the butter, I decided to see how it performed in baking. Using my buttermilk biscuits recipe as a base, I substituted the olive oil & sea salt butter for all of the fat, added a bit of […]

Leave a Reply

