Sausage and Potato Soup

 

2-5-10n1

Here was an happy accident:

I asked Dad what he would like for supper. His answer: soup. What could be easier, eh?

I knew that one of Dad’s favorite soups is cream of broccoli, and I was pretty sure I could find some broccoli in the freezer. The catch? The the broccoli was FREEZER BURNT. One floret had turned a weird orange color and it all smelled horrid. Blech.

2-5-10n3

And so, instead of panicking, I quickly decided to make up a new recipe. That is how this soup was born.

Please do not be scared by the stick of butter included in this recipe. It is necessary. So very necessary. You can add any spices you like, but I found salt, pepper, and parsley sufficient. Also, any type of sausage may be used. I like spicy Italian.

.

Sausage and Potato Soup

Printable Page

Ingredients:

  • 1 stick (1/2 cup) butter
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 medium cloves garlic, minced or crushed
  • 3 medium russet potatoes
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 teaspoons parsley
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons flour
  • 4 cups whole milk
  • 1/2 lb. bulk Italian sausage, cooked until no longer pink

Directions:

1) Melt the butter in a large stockpot over medium-low heat. Add the onion and cook, stirring frequently, until transparent. Add the garlic, potatoes, salt and pepper, and parsley and cook 3 more minutes. Stir in the sausage.

2) Add the flour and cook for an additional 2 minutes. Slowly add the milk. Bring to a boil and simmer just until the potatoes are tender. Taste and adjust seasonings if necessary.

Serves approximately 4-6 people

2-5-10n5

14 Responses to “Sausage and Potato Soup”

  1. Jennifer says:

    With the cold weather lately I have been going through a lot of soups, this sounds wonderful!

  2. Ruth Ann says:

    Erica, this looks amazing. It is making me hungri-er, and I daresay I must be making this soon. {in fact, I just called brother who is at the store grocery shopping with mom and made sure they added potatoes and sausage to the list…}

  3. That soups looks amazing. I love the photos, I love potato anything especially in soup. Great Job.

  4. Gina says:

    looks divine!

  5. Ruth Ann says:

    So Erica…I made this soup, and it was so very yummy! :) My whole family loved it, and I want to make it again! We’re having more cold weather, so I might can!

  6. Erica Lea says:

    Ruth Ann: I’m so glad you liked the soup! I love it when my readers make one of my recipes and tell me how it turned out!

  7. Lillian says:

    Just did a search on google for Sausage Potato Soup and a link came up to you. SO glad to have found your site:) The soup is going to be yummy, but I’m having even more fun looking through more of your posts and seeing all of your gorgeous photos – fantastic!!

  8. Rebekah says:

    This was a wonderful recipe. I used 1 cup beef stock and 3 cups milk, added a minced serrano pepper for some kick, and used quite a bit more than half a pound of sausage. :)At the very end I stirred in some leftover mashed potatoes from earlier in the week– that was great.

    I think that the same effect would be achieved by using 1 more potato than called for, and once the potatoes are soft (but before adding the sausage), pureeing some of the soup in a blender. Then stir it back in and add the sausage. I am going to try that next time! My husband heartily approved of this soup and there will definitely BE a “next time.” Thanks.

  9. Joanna says:

    Oh my! This soup was amazing! Super simple to make and absolutely delicious. We have a ton of deer sausage in the freezer, so that’s what I used. We had it on a cold, rainy night with some fresh oatmeal bread from the machine. We will def be making this again.

  10. Ben @The Philly Food Feed says:

    I have been eating kale and sausage soup all fall and winter and I’m ready for a change. This looks like it’s worthy of that change.

  11. Hearty, satisfying, flavorful! This soup looks delicious. I could eat soup for every meal plus sausage and potatoes are two of my favorite foods. Score!

  12. […] This evening, if he’s feeling up to it, we’re heading over to my in-law’s house (a few miles down the road) for a new-to-me tradition: a soup party! Sounds like an awesome custom to me. Family members bring a different kind of soup to share. So far I’ve heard rumors of seafood, squash-apple-parsnip and oyster (or was is clam?). I’m planning on bringing my Sausage and Potato Soup. […]

  13. […] two years ago, I first developed this recipe for sausage & potato soup because of some freezer-burnt broccoli. It’s still very much a staple at our house – the perfect supper when you can’t think […]

  14. […] family in the fridge, and I wanted to bake something delicious with them. We were having soup for supper and I thought these would be a nice addition to the meal. And they were a success! […]

Leave a Reply

