Grandma’s Cooking School: Banana Cream Pie

{Grandma’s Cooking School is my chronicles of the informal cooking lessons that my Grandma graciously decided to give us girls. I have compiled a list of all the lessons so far. Enjoy!}

2-2-10n23

This summer, Grandma decided that it was time to give us girls some cooking lessons. We planned to begin this fall, but everything got a bit crazy. It wasn’t until a few weeks ago that we were able to take our first course: Banana Cream Pie!

group1

Grandma is such a patient, joyful teacher. She doesn’t have to do everything to make sure we do it right. She encourages us to be involved in every step.

group2

It seems she has magical hands. From years of experience, she knows little secrets to success. Like adding a little water to your pan before you pour in the milk to keep it from scalding.

group3

This pie is so delicious. I won’t lie and say it’s easy, because it isn’t – especially if you decide to make French Custard for the filling and meringue for the topping. But it is worth it.

2-2-10n8

By the way, I didn’t JUST take photos. I got involved, too! Here’s the proof.

I would give you the recipe, but I didn’t ask Grandma for permission to publish her secret recipes across the Internet. So I’ll leave you with this from her very old Betty Crocker cookbook.

**Next time on Grandma’s Cooking School: Chocolate Crepes!**

.

full-recipe

 

 

12 Responses to “Grandma’s Cooking School: Banana Cream Pie”

  1. rachel says:

    The pie looks absolutely delicious!

  2. Ruth Ann says:

    that pie looks delish! yummy yummy, and cheers for beautiful meringues and Grandmas that will teach! :) the pictures are stunning as well. thanks for sharing…you are making lifetime memories that you will never regret – not only the wisdom from your Grandma but time with her that in years to come you will cherish. trust me, I know. :)

  3. ashley says:

    I love your blog. I found it through foodgawker. Banana Cream pie is my absolute Favorite!!! What is the recipe?!!?!?

  4. Lauren says:

    That looks like so much fun! I love learning old tips and tricks from family =D.

  5. Lucy says:

    This bakes sounds like it was a true joy to make! It looks amazing, could definitely do with a big old slice of this beauty :)

  6. Ellie says:

    It’s lovely to spend such quality time with your grandma. Absolutely wonderful cream pie!

  7. Danielle says:

    The pie looks amazing.

  8. […] decided it was time to move from scrumptious sweets to serving an entire meal; and there is no meal so traditional and tasty as a Roast Beef […]

  9. 🙂 says:

    I recognize the page from the recipe book. Is it Betty Croccker’s cookbook? I have the same book. I took that book from my mother’s house years ago since she is no longer using that book. I grew up with that book and I baked the Lemon Chiffon Cake and Banana Chiffon Cake from that book. It’s funny though that the Banana Chiffon Cake I baked as a teenager does not come out the same in my own home. Maybe because my mother’s house is a gas oven and my home has an electric oven? I’m not sure why, but my mother’s Betty Crocker’s cookbook is all beat up now, but I’m keeping it for memories. I end up buying an up-to-date version, but it’s not the same. Keep you grandma’s cookbook.

  10. […] Banana Cream Pie. No recipe, just step-by-step photos. […]

  11. […] Grandma taught us how to make Banana Cream Pie. […]

Leave a Reply

