Almond Butter

3-30-10n7

Before I talk almonds, there are a few things I’d like to share with you.

.

*End of bragging*

3-30-10n3

 

On to the almonds!

To start out, you really must toast your almonds. It adds such a wonderful flavor. Then you grind them in a food processor, add a sprinkle of salt, a little almond extract, some honey, and oil. Perfect!

Serve on toast (my favorite), crackers, ice cream, yogurt, in oatmeal, etc. Or just eat it right out of the jar.

 

Note: I like my nut butters crunchy, so I didn’t grind mine very fine. Next time I might process it a bit more – it was a little dry & crumbly this time.

Coconut oil is wonderful in this recipe. However, if you don’t have any on hand, simply replace it with another good-quality oil.

Homemade Almond Butter

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups whole almonds, toasted
  • 1/4-1/2 teaspoon salt, or to taste
  • 1/4 teaspoon almond extract
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 4-5 tablespoons coconut oil, gently melted

Directions:

1) Place the toasted almonds & salt in a food processor or blender and process until finely ground. Add the extract, honey, and oil. Continue to process until desire consistency is achieved. Taste and adjust salt/honey if necessary.

2) Store in an airtight container in a cool, dry place or in the refrigerator for longer storage. Return to room temperature before use.

Makes approximately 2 cups


14 Responses to “Almond Butter”

  1. Esther says:

    OH! how exciting! That so great about all the news. I love almond butter, we have made it before but just used almonds and nothing else, your recipe looks very tasty!
    I also love the crunchy better then the creamy kind:)

    Esther

  2. Anna says:

    Congratulations!! That is so awesome!

    And your almond butter recipe looks fantastic, I’ll have to try it sometime soon.

  3. soare says:

    how about almond oil? would that work? thank you.

  4. Jessica says:

    I’ve always bought my almond butters but now I guess I don’t need to!

    Is it possible to substitute olive oil for the coconut oil?

  5. Erica says:

    soare: I’m sure almond oil would be perfect!
    Jessica: Olive oil would work, but it would probably give your butter a different flavor. If you don’t mind, give it a try!

  6. sippitysup says:

    This is a beautiful presentation. GREG

  7. Melanie says:

    Well, if I had a T.V. show, I would talk about you too. And I would feature you on my blog too…wait, I already did that!! :) I love your stuff. You make me want to cook. In fact, I think I will…bye!

  8. Megan says:

    Congratulations!
    Mmmm, that almond butter looks so good!

  9. kathy says:

    Yeah… It looks soooo yummy. Great job! :-)

  10. Christina says:

    Hi Erica! I loved the post about you on Tasty Kitchen! And congrats on all the other good news! You rock! Your recipes look amazing; can’t wait to try ‘em. It’s amazing you cook for 7! Keep at it! :)

  11. Jelli says:

    I made homemade peanut butter using this process last week. Perhaps my food processor was too small, but it never got beyond the large crumbly state and I was unwilling to add an atrocious amount of oil. Oh well, still tastes good. Good work. I think I’d love almond butter!

  12. heidileon says:

    can’t wait to try this! I think I’ll do it tonight.

  13. MommyMars says:

    Yum! I recently made some almond butter as well. I toasted them in the oven, and than pureed them in the blender. I just kept blending away until I had a really creamy consistency. It was awesome!

  14. Emelia says:

    I know this is an old post : )
    I found this recipe via a food blog search, and I just wanted to say thank you for posting this recipe; it’s tastes lovely. I used walnut oil instead of coconut oil, which worked well. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

