Magazine Mondays: Green Tea Shortbread Cookies

 

4-5-10n11

As I have mentioned previouslyMagazine Mondays is an event held by Ivonne at Cream Puffs in Venice. Once a week, bloggers are invited to post a recipe made from a magazine and submit the post to Ivonne. It encourages people to actually use their cooking magazines.

4-5-10n1

Ever since I laid eyes on Martha Stewart’s Green Tea Shortbread Leaves I wanted to make them. The lovely hint of green was enticing.

Would I make these again? Certainly. I don’t usually care for shortbread, but these buttery little cookies are simply scrumptious. They would be perfect for an afternoon tea party.

 

 

4-5-10n7

Notes: Of course I changed the original recipe. I substituted whole wheat flour for AP, and used natural cane sugar instead of powdered. Also, I didn’t have any Chinese Green Tea Powder, so I just ground regular green tea in a coffee grinder. Another time I would add more tea.

.

Green Tea Shortbread Cookies

Adapted from Martha Stewart’s Holiday Cookies, December 2001

Printable Page

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups (8 ounces) whole wheat pastry flour
  • 2 tablespoons Green Tea Powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) butter
  • 1/2 cup natural cane sugar, ground fine in a blender or food processor

Directions: 1) In a small bowl, whisk together the flour, tea, and salt. Place the butter in a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment; mix on medium speed until light & fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add the sugar; beat until very light & fluffy, about 2 more minutes. With the mixer on low, slowly add the flour mixture, scraping down the bowl as necessary. Mix just until combined. 2) Turn the dough out onto a piece of parchment paper. Lightly dust your hand & a rolling pin with flour. Roll the dough out to 1/4 inch thick, sprinkling with flour as necessary. Brush off excess flour with a pastry brush. Chill until firm, about 30 minutes. Preheat oven to 350°. 3)  Once the dough is chilled, cut it with 2-inch leaf cutters. Transfer to parchment-lined baking sheets & chill until firm. Bake until firm & just starting to color, about 15-20 minutes. Rotate the pan halfway through baking. Transfer to a wire rack to cool completely. Store in an airtight container. Makes about 3 dozen cookies

4-5-10n9

 


13 Responses to “Magazine Mondays: Green Tea Shortbread Cookies”

  1. gina says:

    Surfed on over from the Tasty Kitchen blog. You have a lovely, lovely blog!

    Happy Cooking :)

  2. Jennifer says:

    Erica, lovely site…. I also came over from tasty kitchen….
    What is the china pattern from this post?
    It looks like forget-me-nots on the cup and saucer – so dainty
    If you have the chance to check for me I would grately appreciate it.

    Best of luck

  3. Hannah says:

    I have never used Matcha powder. What does it taste like?

  4. Erica says:

    Jennifer: I’m not sure what the pattern is called – it isn’t printed on the cup. They may be violets. The cup is Queen Anne Bone China, PATT no. is 8563.

    Hannah: I’ve never tried it either – I just ground regular green tea in a coffee grinder. I would assume that Matcha powder tastes like regular green tea.

  5. Jennifer says:

    Erica thank you! I’m going to go look it up.

    Jen

  6. Esther says:

    Yum! These look good! I was wondering how you join the daring bakers club? Could you give the website address? It looks very interesting and we have wanted to do it for a while.

    Thanks!

  7. Erica says:

    The link is http://thedaringkitchen.com/ It is really fun, but a lot of work.

  8. Amanda says:

    You are so classy Erica! Love this beautiful creation..and of course, your photography is flawless!

  9. heidileon says:

    well, I must admit I also found your blog via Tasty Kitchen; and I’m quite happy for it.

    I love all kinds of cookies, but these cookies have a special appeal to me. I think I will try to bake them soon.

  10. Ivonne says:

    Erica,

    These are beyond lovely! What a great twist on shortbread cookies. Delicious!

  11. […] Erica from the beautiful blog Cooking for Season made Green Tea Shortbread Cookies from the December…. […]

  12. Rachel says:

    Thank you for the recipe! I love anything made with green tea (pretty much!) and I will definitely be making these. I just found your blog through thepioneerwomancooks blog. Thanks again, and I will be visiting again.

  13. Eadaoin says:

    These cookies turned out really well. They have a lovely texture.
    Thank you for the recipe! I will certainly be making these again.
    I used matcha green tea powder, it is just a powder form of green tea that has a stronger taste and smell. (It’s what the Japanese use in their traditional tea ceremony.)

Leave a Reply

