Browned Butter & Almond Financier

4-12-10n1

I must admit that I that had never met with a financier until last Friday. Perhaps I had heard the name mentioned online or in cookbooks, but I would not have been able to tell you a thing about it.

As I flipped through cookbooks, searching for a recipe to use up the ten (ten!) egg whites sitting in the refrigerator, I came across this recipe. The use of browned butter & ground almonds intrigued me; and it looked surprisingly simple. I consulted Dad (who had mentioned pudding & ice cream as a dessert option), and he agreed that trying something new would be good.

 

4-12-10n2

And so I have discovered a cake which I think will become a favorite. The cake is very soft & flavorful – a perfect base for fruit & whipped cream. We eat pudding quite often (more often than I would like to admit), and this is a wonderful way to use up all the egg whites.

4-12-10n6

Notes:

I made my usual substitutions: I replaced half of the white flour with whole wheat & half of the sugar with demerara.

Also, the original recipe called for 2 tablespoons of dark rum, but we substituted 1 tablespoon of white cooking wine.

The recipe suggests serving the cake with fruit; I melted some raspberry jam and strained out the seeds.

Browned Butter & Almond Financer

Adapted from How to Bake by Nick Malgieri

Printable Page

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup whole almonds, plus 1/4 sliced, blanched almonds
  • 3/4 cup demerara sugar
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup (2 ounces) whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 10 tablespoons (1 1/4 sticks) butter
  • 1 tablespoon white cooking wine or 2 tablespoon dark rum (optional)
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 1 cup (about 8 large) egg whites
  • A pinch of salt

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350° F. Butter a 10-inch springform pan & line the bottom with a round of parchment paper.
  2. In a small saucepan set over medium heat, melt the butter. Continue to cook until it foams & darkens slightly. Pour into a small heatproof bowl & allow to cool to lukewarm. When it is cool, stir in the wine & vanilla extract.
  3. Put the almonds and demerara in a food processor & pulse until finely ground. Transfer to a small bowl & whisk in the flour.
  4. In a large, clean, dry bowl, whip the egg whites & salt with a hand mixer until they form very soft peaks (this could also be done with a stand mixer). With the mixer running, slowly add the remaining sugar. Continue beating until soft peaks form.
  5. Alternately fold the almond & butter into the egg whites, 1/3 at a time, starting with the almond mixture & ending with the butter.
  6. Pour into the prepared pan, smooth the top, and sprinkle with the sliced almonds. Bake for approximately 50 minutes, until golden & well risen and the center feels firm when pressed. Remove from oven & allow to cool on a wire cooling rack in the pan for 5 minutes. Remove the sides & bottom of the pan and the paper and allow to cool completely on the rack. Serve with fruit & whipped cream or ice cream.

Serves approximately 8-10

17 Responses to “Browned Butter & Almond Financier”

 

  1. genny says:

    what a beautiful recipe! and what a beautifl blog!

  2. I have tried different versions of financiers (or friands, as my sources are Australian) and loved them, but have never used a large cake pan like this one. It is beautiful! Love your photos.

  3. BEAUTIFUL! I love the ground almonds, whole wheat flour and browned butter in this!!

  4. Maria says:

    Your cake looks wonderful. Great idea to use browned butter. I love the flavor it brings, gorgeous photos too!

  5. Christina says:

    What makes a financier a financier? Is it the use of ground almonds? Is it French?

  6. nico says:

    wow this is way more light than the one I make!! Will try to adjust my recipe

  7. nico says:

    @Christina, I was told at school (french cooking school) that the name is because normally those are made in little rectangles and served with coffe. The rectangles reminds the briefcases the “financier” carries.

  8. Erica Lea says:

    Thank you, everyone!

    nico — Thank you for answering Christina’s question!

  9. Maura says:

    That looks so yummy! I wish my oven would do better at baking!!!

  10. emily says:

    Erica, this looks amazing!

    I also just wanted to say that I’m so impressed by the high quality of your recipes, photography, and website. Well done! I love hearing from a fellow Christian.

  11. This looks so super light and amazing. Also, beautiful pictures!

  12. Karly says:

    Mm, this looks amazing! I’ll bet it was delicious with the raspberry jam.

  13. sandra says:

    Cake can be made into many different flavors with different raw materials.Cake has become my favorite.

  14. Patty says:

    What a delicious way to use-up egg whites. I like how you incorporated healthier ingredients too! Lovely photos. Thanks for sharing. :)

  15. levitra says:

    There is obviously a whole lot to understand about this. I think you made some beneficial points in Attributes also.
    Keep working , wonderful occupation!

  16. Kamagra says:

    What a nice recipe! I love it. I’m really really getting hungry right now. You’re doing such a great job. And the pictures of the almond financier are perfect!

    Well done!

  17. Erica, I am a mom of four boys and our family is serving as missionaries at Rift Valley Academy in Kenya, Africa. We are dorm parents for 20 boys whose parents are also serving as missionaries in Africa. I cannot tell you how much I enjoy your recipes and blogs. We are in our rainy season which makes you a little crazy at times, but trying new recipes (if I can find the ingredients) and hearing your sweet stories makes me smile. I have a feeling that the integrity of the ingredients you use in your recipes, are a reflection of the kind of person you are. May God continue to bless you and your sweet husband, and all that you do!

Leave a Reply

