Grandma’s Cooking School: Roast Beef Dinner

{Grandma’s Cooking School is my chronicles of the informal cooking lessons that my Grandma graciously decided to give us girls. I have compiled a list of all the lessons so far. Enjoy!}

023

Grandma decided it was time to move from scrumptious sweets to serving an entire meal; and there is no meal so traditional and tasty as a Roast Beef Dinner…

group1

Grandma knows all the secrets to making a tender, tasty roast: sprinkle liberally with salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Attack it with a sharp fork & sprinkle with Meat Tenderizer. Coat it with flour and cook in a skillet to brown on all sides.
group2

Pour a can of beef broth into a roasting pan, add the roast, slip it into a moderate oven (325° F) and sit back and relax. Or start making some delicious side dishes: Mashed potatoes, green peas, and steamed cauliflower with buttered breadcrumbs.

group3

Don’t forget to slice some onions and put on top of the roast about an hour before it’s done. This really adds a nice flavor. Set the table, make the gravy, and carve the meat. Here’s a tip from Grandma: slice the meat across the grain for the most tender cut.

group4

We invited Justin & Audra to share in our feasting.

Now, thanks to Grandma, I no longer have to fear making roast beef.

.

**Next Time on Grandma’s Cooking School: Poppy Seed Torte**

.

Here are the previous installments of Grandma’s Cooking School:

Part 1: Banana Cream Pie
Part 2: Chocolate Crepes

.

.

16 Responses to “Grandma’s Cooking School: Roast Beef Dinner”

 

  1. Grandmas are the best cooks! I love the idea of boiling the cauliflower whole and serving it whole. It looks beautiful!

  2. Melanie says:

    Oh my goodness! I love these posts so much that if you charged people to look at them, I would gladly pay! I am definitely making roast beef soon…can’t wait to try it! And the poppy seed torte…that is going to be one that I will cherish forever. Nothin’ like Grandma’s torte.

  3. Jessica M. says:

    Looking forward to the poppy seed torte recipe.
    Also, after you did the Malachi’s Harvest giveaway, I was intrigued and ordered some of their granola online. It was absolutely delicious!

  4. Ruth Ann says:

    Oh, you make me hungry! It looks so scrumptious… Roast beef, mashed potatoes and green peas are so ‘comforting’… :)

  5. Katherine says:

    I really enjoy these Grandma cooking sessions, I hope you keep posting them! It looks like such wonderful family fun.

  6. sandra says:

    Many people like eating roast beef but they cannot make it in our country.I admire you.

  7. Amazing beef. I love beef and this dish just remind me my grandma’s beef. The color is really beautiful as well.

  8. Oscar says:

    Hi

    I like your website very much, I also have a special Chinese food website, and could we exchange website link each other?
    my website is http://www.chinesefoodfans.com/

    Thanks!

  9. Erica Lea says:

    Oscar: I’m glad you like my blog! I stopped by your website, and it looks like you have some delicious recipes. However, I do not accept link exchanges.

  10. Elisabeth says:

    The pictures are lovely and the roast looks scrumptious!

    Elisabeth

  11. Sarah says:

    For how long do you roast the beef?

  12. Erica Lea says:

    Sarah: cooking times vary depending on the roast. It usually takes anywhere from 2-4 hours.

  13. song says:

    It looks beautiful! and i believe Grandmas are the best cooks!

  14. Kim says:

    Looks delicious! Can’t wait to try it…Jesus was a big part of my grandmother’s life….she cooked w/love and heart because she loved Jesus…you could of been a stranger that walked in her house…believe me though she would stretch that food to feed you too and make you feel welcome…you always felt Christ’s presence in her home…whether it was through her baking or her Bible verses on the wall..you always felt comforted!!! Thanks for sharing…Kim

  15. Rebecca says:

    Hi Erica, you’ve got a wonderful blog here and what appears to be a wonderful family. How blessed you are. Keep the delicious recipes coming!

  16. […] never been my favorite veggie. On a scale of 1 to beets, it’s about an eight. Then one day, my grandma taught us how to make steamed cauliflower with buttered breadcrumbs. I softened. A little. Then I saw […]

Leave a Reply

