Banana Poppy Seed Bread & Other Matters

0053

Allow me to share a few things with you:

This week I had the honor of writing a guest post over at the Tasty Kitchen blog. {link}

Joy the Baker commented on my blog. *squeals with delight*

I made Hannah’s (honey & jam) recipe for Roasted Broccoli the other night. Delicious beyond words.

 

0023

Now let me share this delicious banana bread with you.

The inspiration came from Patricia Scarpin over at The Technicolor Kitchen. You should stop by and pay her a visit – her photos are gorgeous.

 

Notes: I just followed my basic banana bread recipe, left out the nuts, and added 1/4 cup of poppy seeds. The result was a tasty bread with a pleasant little crunch from the poppy seeds.

Confession: I under-baked the bread just a little and the center was a bit gooey. But the taste completely made up for it.

 

Banana Poppy Seed Bread

Printable Page

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups (8 ounces) Whole Wheat Pastry Flour
  • ¾ cup maple sugar, sucanat, rapadura, demerara or granulated sugar
  • ¾ teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 3-4  large, darkly speckled bananas, mashed well (about 1½ cups)
  • ¼ cup whole plain yogurt
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 6 tablespoons butter, melted and cooled
  • 1-2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 4 tablespoons poppy seeds

Directions:

1) Preheat oven to 350° F. Grease and flour a 9×5 inch loaf pan.

2) In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking soda, and salt. In a medium bowl, mix the mashed bananas, yogurt, eggs, butter, and vanilla until well blended. Gently fold the banana mixture into the dry ingredients with a rubber spatula just until combined. Fold in the poppy seeds. Batter with be thick and chunky.

3) Scrape the batter into the prepared pan. Bake in preheated oven until golden brown and a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean, about 55-60 minutes.

4) Remove from oven and cool in pan for 5 minutes. Gently loosen the edges with a knife. Transfer to a wire rack. Serve warm or at room temperature.

Makes one large loaf

 

 


10 Responses to “Banana Poppy Seed Bread & Other Matters”

  1. Maria says:

    Glad you had a good week. Loved your guest post and how fun that Joy stopped by. I love Hannah’s recipes as well, I will have to try the broccoli. You deserve all of your success. You are truly talented. Thanks for sharing this recipe. I love the poppyseeds in there! Have a great weekend!

  2. Your guest post on Tasty Kitchen was great! That noodle dish is amazing! We’re hooked on it at my house.
    Your bread looks great-I never thought to add poppy seeds. I hear they’re nutritious–calcium, I think.
    Have a good weekend :)

  3. You are just too sweet – thank you for your kind words!
    Your bread looks so good – very tender, just the way I like it. Yum!

  4. Jennifer says:

    I really love the addition of the poppyseeds in this already fabulous, hearty banana bread!! It looks amazing!!! I too undercook the center of my banana bread sometimes, but I like the gooey goodness! :)

  5. Elga says:

    I love poppy seeds, and I think that the smell of a banana bread in the kitchen is one of the best things in life!

  6. This looks yummy! I bought a packet of poppy seeds the other day but still haven’t decided what to do with them – maybe this would be a good idea…

    You have a wonderful blog (worthy of Joy looking at!). Thank you for stopping by mine and for the lovely mention on twitter :)

  7. M. says:

    beautiful recipe, I love addition of poppy seeds…it makes it extra special :)

  8. […] from a recipe at Cooking for Seven  Link to this page  Link to this page Copy the code below to your web site. […]

  9. Natalie says:

    Looks delicious. I will try this recipe. I love banana bread and I have some poppy seeds in the cupboard.

  10. Suzy Harris says:

    Erica, I just discovered your blog through this recipe – which I tried last night and it made the best banana bread I’ve ever made. I used all white whole wheat flour (from Bob’s Red Mill) and more poppy seeds – and I was very happy with the results. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

