Oatmeal Pecan Date Cookies

What do you do when you run out of your favorite chocolate chips and want to make some utterly scrumptious cookies? Ad-lib a bit, of course!

I dug through our extensive collection of printed Internet recipes and found one claiming to be the perfect oatmeal cookie recipe.

Of course I had to experiment and expand. I threw in some toasted pecans and chopped dates. Am I ever glad I did. The toasty pecans add a nice flavor and texture. When you bite into a date, it seems a tiny explosion of fruity sweetness occurs.

 

Spicy, sweet, nutty, fruity. Yes, they’ll do for a chocolate chip cookie replacement.

Notes: Following my usual substitutions, I used a little over half whole wheat flour in place of AP, and all maple sugar in place of the granulated and brown sugars.

You can use any nut or dried fruit you wish — experiment!

Oatmeal Pecan Date Cookies

Adapted from Thibeault’s Table

Printable Page

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1 ½ cups maple sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 1 cup (4 ounces) Whole Wheat Pastry Flour
  • 2/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/8 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • dash nutmeg (I used freshly grated)
  • 1 ½ cups rolled oats
  • 1 cup toasted pecans or nut of choice
  • 1 cup chopped dates or dried fruit of choice

Directions:

1) Preheat oven to 350° F.

2) Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add egg and beat until smooth. Beat in vanilla.

3) Combined flours, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg. Stir into butter mixture. Add rolled oats, pecans, and dates. Roll into small balls (golf ball size), place on an ungreased or parchment lined baking sheet, and flatten slightly.

4) Bake 10 to 12 minutes or until bottoms are golden. Cookie should not get brown. Cool on pan for 5 minutes. Remove to a wire rack to cool completely.

Makes about two dozen cookies


11 Responses to “Oatmeal Pecan Date Cookies”

  1. Erica, that sounds like the perfect recipe for me! I got a package of dates as a gift but couldn’t decide what to make with them… These cookies look so good!

  2. I’ve been having a cookie craving for a few days, but haven’t made any yet because none of them sound good. This is perfect! Will be making it tonight! Thanks :)

  3. helsbells says:

    Mmmmmm they look so lovely, now can you post the recipe for the ones with no fat!!

  4. Erica Lea says:

    Ha ha! I’m afraid that will not be possible. :D

  5. Maria says:

    Oatmeal cookies are my absolute favorite. I can’t wait to try these.

  6. Vivienne says:

    Wow these cookies are perfect! I love oatmeal cookies…def healthier than the usual choc chip ones too ;)
    Glad I found your blog thru foodgawker! Really good photos too! :)

  7. This is a great idea. I often get stuck looking for a good cookie with dried fruits and nuts and they’re often very specific with unique spices I don’t want. This is great – a plain, simple cookie with a special punch!

    I’ve read your blog for a while since I first linked to it on tastespotting. I really love your photos – the perfect balance of pretty and rustic.

  8. Mary says:

    Wow, those look incredible… and those pictures, amazing! Happy I found you!

    xxMK
    Delightful Bitefuls

  9. Hannah says:

    Beautiful photos of YUMMY looking cookies – me want. ^_^

  10. Cathy says:

    Great recipe for me today. Yummy for us and perfect to share with grandpa who is valiently fighting cancer and enjoys dates. I added flax meal to help him with his nutrition needs and they are still fab for all. Thanks so much for the recipe!

  11. =) says:

    Yummmmyyyy Galletitas!!!

Leave a Reply

