How to Make Greek Yogurt

005

One afternoon, as my sister & I were on lunch break, we discovered something delicious:Greek Gods Yogurt. Between the two of us we devoured a 24-ounce container of the Honeyflavor. Hey, it was my first encounter with “real” Greek yogurt.

 

"Drizzle"

The drawback? The price. I knew there must be a way to make Greek yogurt at home.

After one failed attempt that left me with runny yogurt, I gave up.  Then, a few weeks ago, I decided to try again. And…success! The creamy, rich yogurt was almost like sour cream.

 

003

It was delicious with fresh strawberries from our garden, mixed with strawberry jam, drizzled with honey, or sprinkled with maple sugar. The possibilities are limitless!

Would you like to make some for yourself?

Group1

How to make Greek yogurt

Place a colander or strainer in a large bowl. Line with several thicknesses of cheesecloth. Pour in desired amount of plain yogurt (homemade or store-bought). Keep in mind that the yogurt will diminish by about half.

 

Group2
Fold the cheesecloth on top of itself. Place a plate on top of the yogurt and a heavy bowl on top of the plate. Place in the refrigerator and allow to strain until the yogurt is very thick, about 4-8 hours. The whey will drip into the bottom of the bowl. Save for future use or discard. Carefully scoop the thickened yogurt into storage containers. Store in the refrigerator.

Notes: Whole milk yogurt makes for the creamiest texture. If you’re making your own yogurt, you could even add a little cream.

I have also used paper towels to strain the yogurt. Just make sure that none of the paper sticks to the yogurt.

 

 

Printable instructions with step-by-step photos

Printable instructions without photos

 


30 Responses to “How to Make Greek Yogurt”

  1. Esther says:

    We absolutely adore Greek yogurt! We love to make tzatziki out of it. Do you all make your own yogurt at home?

  2. Maria says:

    We make our own yogurt. Greek is my favorite. It is so much cheaper to make at home and so much better! Love yours!

  3. Norah says:

    Look at this blog KitchenStewardship.com for instructions on how to make yogurt, then put it through cheesecloth.I make mine with whole milk with about half a cup of cream mixed in. Makes delicious parfaits like the ones McDonalds make with frozen fruit and granola.

  4. Thanks for sharing this! I had no idea it was so simple… I will definitely have to try this. I am used to spending loads on the Fage brand. I got my Mom addicted, and we love to plop it into a big bowl scattered with almonds and topped with agave nectar. Delicious!!!

  5. Rebecca says:

    This is awesome :) I would love it if you did a tzatziki sauce recipe (hint hint!). I have been looking for a good recipe with awesome instructions, but havn’t come up with one yet.

    This is defenitly step number one in my findings, though!!

  6. Erica Lea says:

    Esther: Yes, we make our own yogurt, but we also buy yogurt. I recommend Danon plain yogurt or Greek gods Honey yogurt.

    Rebecca: Perhaps I will do a tzatziki recipe sometime. My sister made it for a Middle Eastern dinner we hosted, and it was delicious.

  7. I’ve been making crockpot yogurt for a couple of years now on a regular basis and attempted Greek yogurt, in a similar method, a while back. It is good and all of my weight-loss magazines promoted it as extra-healthy too and very beneficial to the body. I just need to find somewhere to buy cheesecloth. I had to use a sterilized dishcloth when I made it.

  8. Katherine says:

    This might be a silly question, but greek yogurt is known for having more protein than regular yogurt…right? So if I make my own greek yogurt with this method, aren’t I technically missing out on the added protein from store bought?

  9. Erica Lea says:

    Katherine: I’ve never heard of that! I did a bit of research, and as far as I can tell, Greek yogurt is higher in protein because it is strained and the nutrients are more concentrated. So unless the store-bought varieties add protein, you should be getting the same benefits from homemade.

  10. Mary says:

    I was sooo excited to see this post! Thank you for all your trial and error for our sake! I can’t wait to try this, it’s been bookmarked!

    xxMK
    Delightful Bitefuls

  11. Katherine says:

    Okay, thanks for taking the time to find an answer to my question! I’ll be attempting to make my own greek yogurt soon :)

    Katherine

  12. indie.tea says:

    Yum, the picture of your strawberries mixed in with the yogurt is SO tempting. My mom taught me how to make yogurt when I was little, I’ll have to try straining it into this Greek-style yogurt asap!

  13. Sherry says:

    I really do love greek yogurt! You’re right that it an be expensive, so thanks for the great instructions! I just found your blog and really like. You have wonderful recipes!

  14. Heidi says:

    Do you have any suggested uses for the leftover whey?

  15. Rose says:

    I feed the leftover whey to my goats. They love it. Before I discovered that the goats liked it, I used it for liquid in my homemade bread.

  16. Jeannie says:

    Wow! I cannot wait to try this! I am so in love with Greek Gods honey yogurt but not the price! This is my first time visiting your site…won’t be the last! Thank you so much!

  17. Jamie says:

    I searched and searched the internet finding an easy recipe for greek yogurt. It is in the refridgerator now. I look forward to how it will taste for breakfast!

    And I love the website. Great photography and I love how you made the recipe look as interesting and exciting as the photographs of the food! I will check back for more recipes!

  18. I’ve been wanting to try making this. Thanks for the inspiration

  19. Christine says:

    Remember so many dairy products contain added hormones like rBGH (Dannon is one) so if you are going to make your own yogurt you might want to use organic milks, or use organic yogurts like Stonyfield to make greek yogurt. Monsanto won’t let companies advertise on their cartons that they are hormone free, but a little research on-line gives us a pretty good idea which companies we can support.

  20. StacyJ says:

    I read just this a.m. about Greek yogurt being better for you than most store-bought yogurts because of their high sugar content. But I’m wondering if I’m missing something…all it takes to make it “greek-style” is to strain it?

  21. Erica Lea says:

    StacyJ: Yep! That’s all it takes.

  22. Deb says:

    I always use a very large coffee filter for straining the yogurt. I’ve never tried cheesecloth, so I’m not sure which would be easier, but there you go — another option.

    I just found your blog this morning and have been enjoying your beautiful photos and taking note of a few recipes to try.

  23. Becky says:

    Thanks for sharing this easy recipe. I love greek yogurt but feel guilty for spending so much on a such a small serving. Made it last night and just had a serving with strawberries. The consistency is great but the taste is not quite as good or maybe not as sweet as the store bought. I did accidently pick up Nonfat plain and my strawberries are unsweetened. I probably just need to get used to the lower sugar content.

  24. […] Erica Lea’s Greek yogurt tutorial on was so easy to follow! […]

  25. Kate says:

    I read through all the comments to make sure I’m not repeating too much. I, too, make my own yogurt and strain some of it through a coffee filter. However, I also drink the leftover whey. I guess I can’t let all that nutrition go to waste! Just wanted to point out that it is drinkable. Not exactly delicious, but energizing, refreshing, and thirst-quenching.

    Congratulations on your marriage. Love the blog!

  26. Christina says:

    Straining with plain white fabric works much better than with a coffee filter because you can actually reuse the fabric. It could be a pillow case, t-shirt, sheet, flour sack, etc. Also you can do larger amount than coffee filters because, as far as I know, coffee filters can’t be bought as large as the average sink if you really wanted to.

  27. Diana says:

    I have made Greek Yogurt and used disposable coffee filters to strain it. Whole milk and heavy whipping cream make it positively sinful! Just a light drizzle of honey is all the sweetener it needs, if any. Once you go Greek, you NEVER go back, LOL!

  28. wow greek yogurt, a healthy and safe dessert! I love it!

  29. […] the whey. As I haven’t done this yet, but really want to, I’ve been reading recipes here and […]

  30. Ash says:

    I can’t believe it is this easy. This explains why you can use yogurt in replacement of sour cream in recipes. Im very excited to try this.

Leave a Reply

