Blueberry Cobbler

Have I told you about this cobbler? It is wonderful. Easy, fast, delicious. My dad likes it better than blueberry pie. The first time we made it he said, “You need to USE this recipe.” And so we have.

The construction of the topping was new to me: Cut the butter into the dry ingredients, then add boiling water. The result is a tender, tasty topping. And it’s so much easier than pie dough.

Notes: The original recipe calls for blackberries. Blueberries make a wonderful substitute, but I like to add more than the recipe calls for. Of course I substituted whole wheat for AP flour and maple sugar for granulated.

Blueberry Cobbler

Adapted from Buns in My Oven

Printable Page

Ingredients:

For the dough:

  • 1 1/2 (6 ounces) whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 cup maple sugar, demerara, rapadura, or sucanat
  • 1  1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 9 tablespoons cold butter, cut into pieces
  • 1/3 cup boiling water

For the filling:

  • 2 tablespoons corn starch
  • 1/4 cup cold water
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 4-6 cups fresh blueberries
  • 1/2 cup maple sugar, demerara, rapadura, or sucanat

Directions:

1) Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

2) For the dough: Mix the flour, sweetener of choice, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon in a large mixing bowl. Cut in the butter until you have a coarse, crumbly mixture. Pour in the boiling water and stir together until all of the dough is wet. Set aside.

3) For the berries: Dissolve the cornstarch in the cold water in a medium bowl. Add the lemon juice, berries, and sweetener of choice. Mix together well.

4) Transfer berries to a 10 inch cast iron pan. Heat mixture over medium heat until boiling, stirring frequently. Remove from heat.

5) Drop spoonfuls of dough over the berry mixture and place the cast iron pan on a foil lined cookie sheet and place in the oven. Bake for 20-25 minutes, until the dough is golden brown and the berries are thick and bubbly.

Note: If you don’t have a cast iron pan, you can bring the berries to a boil in a sauce pan and bake in a 9×9 baking dish.

Makes approximately 6-8 servings.

17 thoughts on “Blueberry Cobbler

  1. This looks soooo good. My family loves cobbler so I will have to try this easy version as soon as the weather cools…I have a semi lax “no oven” rule in the summer 🙂

  2. Oh boy does this look good! Erica, I think that one day, we must bake together. This is one of my favourite types of things to make when I don’t want to worry :). Gorgeous and delicious no doubt!

  3. Why pastry flour instead of regular whole wheat? I never know when to use regular whole wheat or whole wheat pastry flour…can you help clear it up?

    • Katherine: Whole wheat pastry flour is lighter than regular whole wheat flour and acts more like all-purpose flour. It is wonderful for quick breads, muffins, and biscuits. However, whole wheat pastry flour has less gluten than regular whole wheat, so it is not good for yeast breads. It is best to use hard white or red wheat for yeasted breads to ensure proper gluten development.

      I have actually used regular whole wheat flour in this cobbler and it works quite well. However, I prefer the pastry flour.

      If you have any further questions, just let me know!

  4. Okay this was KILLER! I reduced the sugar a bit (used sucanat) and cut the butter in half and it was still amazing!!! My boyfriend loved it! I’m going to stir some of it into my oatmeal in the a.m. Is that wrong? 🙂 THANK YOU!

  5. Good morning! Your blog is awesome, I’m a brand new fan! The presentation of this cobbler looks amazing! I’ll definitely have to break out my trusty Lodge and make it soon! Good job!

  6. Hi,

    I’m Canadian born but have lived in Australia for 35 yrs. Boy do I mis my blueberries! We can get them but they charge an arm and a leg.

    What can I use instead of a cast iron pan? Could I use Pyrex? Not sure if this can go directly on the gas stove though.

  7. I’m in love with your site! The photos are fantastic, I want to make every recipe, and I especially love that you use maple sugar and whole grain flours, which is how I like to bake, too. : )

    This cobbler looks superb! I’m usually a crisp/crumble girl, but I’m looking forward to trying this topping, as it looks fantastic. Looking forward to reading more – cheers!

Leave a Reply

