Biscuits + Gravy

To view the pictures and recipes, please visit Buttered Side Up.

0074

When I was a little girl (around eight or ten) I would always request Biscuits and Gravy for my birthday. To me, there was no meal more delicious.

0016

Hot, homemade biscuits.

0025

Crumbled, ready to received some gravy goodness.

0112

Drenched in sausage gravy. Seriously delicious.

Notes: I have included my favorite recipes for homemade sausage, gravy, and biscuits. You could, of course, use store-bought sausage, but I find that it is often filled with MSG.

We usually double or 1.5 times the biscuit recipe. One recipe makes about 12 biscuits.

I know this recipe looks long, but it’s definitely worth it.

To view the pictures and recipes, please visit Buttered Side Up.

24 thoughts on “Biscuits + Gravy

  1. When I was in the US I tried my best to find a recipe for sausage gravy from scratch – it seems I was asking the impossible, thank you so much for sharing this. Biscuits and gravy was my absolute favourite thing to eat while I was there.

  2. I thought that was going to be too much gravy so I lessened it. I should have just stuck to what you said and made that much gravy! Mine was a little lumpy, any tips? I made mine with bacon grease because I had made bacon and butter is expensive here in Singapore.

    • Ashley: My dad always complains if there isn’t enough gravy, so I try to make lots! As to lumpiness: Did you use a whisk? Did you add the milk slowly? I find if I add the milk all at once it tends to be lumpier. Bacon grease sounds wonderful! Last time we made it we used lard. Yum!

  3. Hi,
    Today I came across your blog {via lens and needle} and have fallen head-over-heels in love. There are eleven or so of your recipes bookmarked and one printed off to cook tomorrow morning, as it’s getting late here.
    I’d never heard of biscuits with gravy. Here {in England} biscuits are cookies, so it would basically be cookies with gravy… Surely an interesting take on the flavours, but perhaps not the tastiest? Anyway, this recipe sounds scrumptious!

  4. Thanks Erica. No, I didn’t pour it in slowly. There is the problem. Thanks for letting me know. I’ll be sure to do it that way next time. πŸ™‚
    Just want to let you know, I really enjoy your blog. I’ve got 4 sisters and one brother, youngest sister is only 10 months though, so I know all about cooking for seven!

  5. Ohhhh this looks so yummy!! I love your pictures . πŸ™‚

    I’m curious about the lighting in these pictures…are they taken by a window? Do you find it hard to take pictures in artificial lighting? Also, do you use photoshop for any of them?

  6. Pingback: Playing hookie…sort of. « The Very Last Bite

  7. I just went on pinterest to find some good biscuits and gravy recipes! I decided I had all the ingredients for this one and wanted to try! Just a heads up, you didn’t write tsp, tbsp, or cup next to flour for the gravy part. I’m assuming it’s teaspoons but I guess I’ll find out! Just wanted to let you know so you could add that in! πŸ™‚

  8. I love sausage and biscuits….i did not start eating it until i moved to the south though…..i like your recipe, but when i make this i cook my sausage and make the gravy in the same pan…..you add your flour and butter to the sausage and cook it for about two minutes (essentially a roux) and then you add your milk into the pan and cook until the gravy boils then turn it way down and simmer gently for about 5 minutes. this way the gravy has much more flavor. just a suggestion. πŸ™‚

  9. Oh my goodness. You are a girl after my own heart. Biscuits and gravy for birthday breakfasts is one of the top ten best things in the whole world. I cannot wait to try your recipe! Thank you for posting this!

  10. To keep your gravy from getting lumpy – add the flour to coat the browned sausage and then brown slightly again so that the flour isnt sticky anymore before adding your milk. You shouldnt have any lumps πŸ™‚ Works the same with chicken fried steak gravy πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

