On Molasses Spice Cookies + Sisters

004

Cooking can be solitary or shared. When the kitchen is cleared of clutter and people, you are free to create as you wish. It is very calming. However, throw two very different people into a kitchen and ask them to make a meal together and you have a potential disaster on your hands.

But if you never cook with someone you love and trust, you lose so much. Working and producing with your best friend is very rewarding and really brings out your character.

My favorite people to cook with? My sisters.

003

No strings attached. Just a common goal: creating something delicious.

These cookies were made by my sister and I for a party. As I rolled the balls of dough in sugar, I realized how easy it is for me to work with her. How blessed I am to be able to work with my sister without going crazy!

005

But lets talk cookies. These big, soft cookies have a wonderful level of spice and sweetness. Perfect with a tall glass of cold (whole) milk.

Notes: I made these cookies slightly more healthy by adding a bit of whole wheat flour. Another time I would like to experiment by using natural sweeteners & rolling the dough in demerara. Also, I used my homemade lard in place of shortening. Yes. I detest trans fats.

Molasses Spice Cookies

Adapted from The KAF Baker’s Companion

Printable Page

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup lard
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1/2 cup unsulfured molasses
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups (8 ounces) whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 1/4 teaspoons baking soda
  • 2 1/4 teaspoons ground ginger
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cloves
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • Extra sugar, for coating cookies

Directions:

1) In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream the butter, shortening, and sugar. Beat in the molasses and eggs.

2) In a medium bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients. Add the dry ingredients to the butter mixture and blend until smooth. Place in the refrigerator for about 1 hour (it took less time for us) or until the dough is easy to handle.

3) Preheat oven to 350° F. Lightly grease or line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

4) Fill a small, shallow bowl with sugar. Roll the dough into golf ball sized balls. Roll in sugar and place on prepared cookie sheet 2 inches apart.

50 Bake in preheated oven for about 13 minutes. Do not overcook. They will still be soft and only slightly darker. Remove to wire rack to cool completely. Store in an airtight container.

Makes approximately forty cookies (we got much less).

007

29 thoughts on “On Molasses Spice Cookies + Sisters

  1. Sweet post 🙂

    You should write a post about how you make your homemade lard! I’d be very interested! I know Lisa @ Homesick Texan has done a post about it, but I’d be curious to know your methods too.

    Also, I love your new photo 🙂

  2. I make molasses cookies a lot…and they never fail to remind me of my Mom and sister…I just encourage you to enjoy every minute with your family…since getting married and moving “away from home”, I realize how precious those years were…and how much I miss my family! Beautiful pictures, as always…

    love,
    Cathy b. @ brightbakes

  3. these are beautiful! They look a lot like my Better Homes & Gardens Ginger cookie recipe, that i love! How do you make all of your cookies so perfect and uniform? do you have a cookie scoop you recommend? I’ve been meaning to get one!

  4. You’re lucky to have a sister to share so many things with, I only have three brothes and I love them very much but I always kind of feel like something was missing in my relationship with them. Then I realize that thing missing was that they are no women!hehe. Love the cookies, they look awesome. Best wishes from Spain!

    • Homeschool on the Croft: Thank you very much! Here are some tips I’ve found useful.

      1) Turn off your flash Unless you have the money to set yourself up with professional lighting, it’s a good idea to stick with natural light. On-camera flash is very harsh and unflattering. To learn more, I highly recommend the book Professional Secrets of Natural Light Portrait Photography. I was able to order it from our library.

      2) Be aware of your angle. It’s very tempting to just stay put and shoot away. Move around. Experiment with different angles. The perfect shot could be just a few feet (or even inches) away.

      3) Employ the rule of thirds. It seems natural to center your subject in the middle of the frame. This is not the most dynamic framing, however. Try off-centering your subject. For portraits, it’s a good idea to place your subject’s eyes 1/3 of the way down the frame. To learn more about the rule of thirds, read this article

      There are many great articles on the web for beginning photographers:

      Wikipedia’s Article on Photography

      The Pioneer Woman – some great articles on composition, exposure, and editing. She uses some crude humor, but her articles are very informative.

      VeganYumYum has a very good article on food photography that also applies to other forms of photography.

      Hope that inspires you!

      Erica Lea

  5. the cookies look great – I do love Christmas baking. I took a picture of my grand daughters wearing a headband and large flower – I am trying to get good enough to take their pictures, with their eyes OPEN! Anyway, I purchased a few headbands/flowers/bows from an on-line store, polkadotposies, and wanted my 2 grand daughters dressed in similar clothing, with my grand son in jeans and sweater. The colors are so bright and pretty, I almost think the colors are too bright. Any suggestions? I don’t want the picture to be so busy you don’t notice the children.

  6. Pingback: Wishing You All… | Cooking for Seven

  7. Pingback: El Baúl de los Recuerdos, Brunch « Sweet Surrender

  8. Looks like you need a comment for fall 2012… thank you for this recipe! I couldn’t find my favorite when I went to make spice cookies this fall, so I looked around. Your blog is lovely and the recipe was spot on (I used coconut oil in place of lard – turned out great). I have five little kids of my own, so now I’m cooking for seven too. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

