Scroll to the bottom to see the giveaway winner…

Our family has always enjoyed a good cup of eggnog at Christmastime. Mom would carefully pour out a small portion and add a bit of milk to make it less rich. We kids would savor the little we got and agree that any more would be too much.

These days I prefer to make my own eggnog. I know exactly which ingredients go into it. And it is such fun to make.

 

 

Homemade Eggnog

Adapted from a recipe from a friend.

Printable Page

Ingredients:

  • 12 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups maple syrup (or granulated sugar)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 quarts (8 cups) whole milk
  • 2 tablespoons vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg + more for garnish
  • 2 cups heavy whipping cream

Directions:

1) In heavy 4 quart saucepan, off heat, whisk the eggs, maple syrup, and salt until well blended. Gradually stir in half of the milk.

2) Cook over low hear, stirring constantly, until mixture thickens and coats the back of a spoon, about 25 minutes

(mixture should be about 170 – 175 degrees F). Do not boil.

3) Pour custard in a large bowl. Stir in vanilla extract, 1 Tsp. ground nutmeg and remaining milk. Cover and refrigerate until well chilled, about 3 hours.

4) Just before serving, in a medium bowl, beat whipping cream until soft peaks form. With wire whisk, gently fold whipped cream into custard mixture. Serve with extra whipped cream on top and a sprinkle of freshly grated nutmeg.

Store in the refrigerator up to 3 days.

Makes about 16 cups or 32 – 1/2 cup servings

And now for the giveaway results!

Using random.org I selected a winner:

Commenter #156 Marty Rummel, who said: “CCC’s are hard to beat! Give me chocolate chips with walnuts, please!”

Congratulations, Marty! I will contact you with further information.

Thank you all for entering my contest. May you have a Merry Christmas!

 

19 Responses to “Homemade Eggnog + Winner”

  1. You know, Erica, the first time I ever had egg nog was last year–when I was twenty years old. I had never had it before then because I…was scared of the name.

    I know…I’m a dweeb.

    But I gave it a try…and it wasn’t SO bad. I had it from a carton, which was probably my downfall. However, yours looks like something I would really enjoy! I bet it would change my life. :)

  2. Kerri says:

    Looks sooooo good. I have always been reluctant to making eggnog due to the amount of eggs, but this year I am going to go for it and try it out. I am sure it is much better than the store brands, you know it’s gotta be better tasting. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe. I just love your pictures. Keep up the great work!

  3. Begoña says:

    So wonderful, so so so so wonderful! Love your blog!

  4. Lovely photos :). My boyfriend’s family has a long tradition of making eggnog from scratch. Have you heard about aged eggnog? I’m curious as I hear the taste is milder and delicious but it sounds a bit unsafe to keep eggnog for months or even a year.

  5. dropfood says:

    Your recipe was posted.

  6. *drools* I looove eggnog, but I have never made or had homemade eggnog! We’ve always bought it from the store (and I still love it, so I guess I should try the homemade!). Gorgeous pics, as usual. :-)

  7. These look amazing, especially the freshly grated nutmeg! I’m not even that big on eggnog but suddenly I want some!

  8. This looks delicious! And your photography is so lovely. Have a wonderful Christmas!

  9. That looks amazing! I want to try eggnog before – the other kinds I’ve made didn’t really work out. =) By the way, I tried mixing chai tea leaves with our gingerbread muffins last night…I liked the touch it added. Thanks for the idea!
    God bless!
    ~Rachel~

  10. […] Eggnog {This is the most delicious looking eggnog I have ever seen!} […]

  11. Anna says:

    This looks delicious! I was scared about making eggnog because of the raw eggs! But now, I’ll try it! thanks for the recipe! :)

  12. Victoria says:

    I have yet to try homemade eggnog. This year I gotta try this one!! Yum! I featured this on my blog too: http://vixenmade.blogspot.com/2011/12/festive-eggnog-recipe-roundup.html

  13. […] via 1 and 2 This entry was posted in a-z to a stylish christmas, Christmas by Shopgirl. Bookmark […]

  14. […] Let’s make some Homemade Eggnog! […]

  15. […] Erica Lea on December 21, 2010 in Drinks, Holiday See this recipe post on Erica Lea’s site! December 21, […]

  16. Diana Leah says:

    Simply divine, the result was a huge hit last night! Thank you for sharing.

  17. Erica Lea says:

    Diana: So glad you enjoyed it! Have a lovely evening. :)

Tell me about it!

Leave a Reply

