Cinnamon Roll Cake with Maple Cream Cheese Frosting

008

Some days, you just need a recipe that doesn’t call for fancy ingredients. You don’t have any specialty items on hand, but you still want to bake something utterly scrumptious.

007

 

This cake definitely fits the bill. A soft, cinnamon-scented batter is filled with buttery, sugary swirls. Top it off with a drizzle of maple and cream cheese frosting, and you have one delicious treat.

 

003

Notes:

The original recipe called for a powdered sugar glaze. I much prefer a less-sweet cream cheese based frosting. So I made up a recipe for drizzly maple-cream cheese frosting.

As per my usual substitutions, I used whole wheat flour in place of most of the AP flour, and maple sugar instead of brown sugar. I also added a bit of cinnamon to the cake batter to enhance the flavor. You can add pecans to the topping, but I didn’t have any on hand, so I left them out. Besides, my husband doesn’t like nuts in baked goods.

 

 

Cinnamon Roll Cake with Maple Cream Cheese Frosting

Adapted from Divine Baking | Printable Page | Makes approximately 8 servings

 

Ingredients:

For the cake:

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup AP flour
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup maple sugar, demerara, sucanat, rapadura, or brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 3/4 cups whole milk
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup (1/2 stick) butter, melted

For the topping:

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup maple sugar or sweetener of choice
  • 1 tablespoons AP flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 6 tablespoons chopped pecans, optional

For the maple cream cheese frosting:

  • 4 oz. (1/4 lb.) cream cheese, softened
  • 3-4 tablespoons pure maple syrup
  • 1/4 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1-2 tablespoons whole milk

Directions:

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a round cake pan.
2) In a large bowl or in the bowl of a stand mixer, whisk together the whole wheat flour, AP flour, salt, sugar, and baking powder. In a small bowl, combine the milk, egg, and vanilla. Beat into the dry ingredients until well combined. Slowly stir in the melted butter. Pour batter into prepared pan.
3) In a large bowl, mix the softened butter, maple sugar, flour, cinnamon and pecans (if using) until well combined. Drop evenly over cake batter by the tablespoonsful and use a knife to marble/swirl through the cake.
4) Bake at 350 degrees for 25-30 minutes or until toothpick comes out nearly clean from center. You want to make sure it’s done.
5) Beat the cream cheese with a hand mixer until smooth. Slowly add the maple syrup and vanilla. Add a few tablespoons of milk, if necessary, so the frosting can be drizzled. While the cake is still warm, drizzle the frosting on top. Serve warm or at room temperature.

005

 

40 Responses to “Cinnamon Roll Cake with Maple Cream Cheese Frosting”

  1. How much fun did you have typing ‘husband’ on your blog for the first time? ;)

    Cake looks delicious! :)

  2. Erica Lea says:

    DessertForTwo: Haha! It was awesome typing that out. Before I shared my dad’s insights about the food I cook, now I get to share my husband’s!

  3. Haha, I was just about to write exactly the same thing as the commenter above!

    This looks great, though – interesting to turn a yeasted dough into a cake dough. Yum.

  4. Elizabeth says:

    So I have this in the oven right now! Just what this pregnant woman was craving :)
    Thanks!! Can’t wait for it to finish cooking!!

  5. GOOD. GRIEF.

    sold. on my way over. :)

  6. Hah! Love the ‘my husband….’! And *love* the look of this cake… :)

  7. This looks really lovely! It reminds me of a Finnish cake called “Boston cake” (I have no idea where the name comes from) :-)

  8. Yum! This would be so good for breakfast, or a snack, or whenever for that matter. :-) The glaze makes it for sure. And my husband doesn’t like nuts in baked goods either. :-p

  9. That looks fantastic. The cream cheese glaze over top looks really beautiful and I love the cinnamon and maple combo. Yummy! Plus I love that you use whole wheat flour :)

  10. I adore coffee cake! Love that you added cream cheese instead of the overly-sweet sugary glaze it usually has.

  11. Carol says:

    This looks amazing…a definite one to make. Congrats on your recent marriage!! :)

  12. Esther says:

    Mmm. This looks heavenly! I can see my brothers mouths watering already:-)

    Thanks for the recipe!

  13. Maria says:

    I am drooling! This looks so good!

  14. Ali says:

    Drizzly maple cream cheese frosting…..uh, yum!! That sounds fantastic :D

    If you’d like, I wanted to invite you to share your best recipes over at my new party, Recipe Sharing Monday at Jam Hands. I’m going to be featuring my favorite submissions during the week and I’d love it if you’d join in the fun. :O)

  15. Katrina says:

    This cake sounds lovely! I’ve never baked with maple sugar before, but it sounds super tasty. Great recipe!

  16. Two thumbs up for your glaze alteration, I think your version sounds absolutely delicious :) Ive seen this kind of recipe around a few times but not many of them have looks anywhere near as tempting as yours! Gorgeous photos indeedy

  17. Love love love this!!! Breakfast fit for a queen. :-D

  18. Cinnamon rolls and cake are about two of my favorite things so of course I am drooling all over my keyboard, yum!

  19. Anything with maple and nuts, is a perfect food!

  20. Ooooh, this looks fabulous! It has all the components of ooey gooey cinnamon rolls without all the hard work of kneading and rolling out the dough! Thanks for sharing, Erica! :-)

  21. What a great, delicious idea. I love cinnamon rolls so I can only assume I’d love this cake. The maple cream cheese icing sounds divine. Thanks for sharing this!

  22. laura says:

    wow, this looks amazing! can’t wait to try – thanks for sharing!

  23. Mmm.. that looks divine and I am with your husband – I hate nuts, especially on cakes :)

  24. cat says:

    This looks so incredible! I love all things cinnamon and this looks like a satisfying way to cure the cinnamon swirl craving.

  25. Katie says:

    What a unique idea for a cake! This looks amazing.

  26. […] Cinnamon Roll Cake with Maple Cream Cheese Frosting (Cooking for Seven) I am 100% sold that this can be my breakfast, lunch & dinner for an entire weekend. Amazing! […]

  27. Ally says:

    Delicious! xo

  28. This looks amazing! Yum! Wish I had this for breakfast right now!

  29. Karen Thompson says:

    This looks wonderful. I like the “use what I have” concept…so often a trip to the store is required. Love your site…found it by way of “Brown Eyed Baker”.

  30. I feel the same way about the frosting… I always replace powdered sugar glaze with cream cheese-based something when I’m doing cinnamon rolls. Good call!

    Enjoy this treat with your new hubby! So fun :)

  31. GingerCan says:

    I have been looking forever for a site with recipes made with natural sugar and natural ingredients! I am so excited and can’t wait to try some! Thank you!

  32. Mrs C says:

    Oh this looks heavenly!! I could have with my morning cup of jo right now!!! What do you think of this fun recipe for Meditteranean kabobs…easiest appetizer ever!

    http://www.MrsCapretta.com
    Recipes Fashion Marriage

  33. […] Cinnamon Roll Cake with Maple Drizzle, from Cooking for Seven […]

  34. Kim says:

    This cake is amazing, I made it on the weekend and would definitely make it again, I used only brown sugar, that’s all i had and doubled the cream cheese icing, I have an obsession with it, I love this cake

  35. […] Cinnamon Roll Cake With Maple Cream Cheese Frosting From Cooking For Seven […]

  36. I stumbled apon your blog when looking for some cinnamon maple bread recipes. I’m finding LOTS of recipes I must try… this being one of them. Looks so yummy… I’m not sure if I should make this cake or your Cinnamon Bread today… tough choice!

  37. […] Cinnamon Roll Cake adapted from Cooking for Seven […]

  38. Kim says:

    Oh my goodness! This is going on my Fall Baking List!! Thank you so much for sharing this.

  39. […] undomestic feel like baking, which means I’ll be looking for something to put in my crockpot. This cake sounds good, or maybe this one (we found blueberries yesterday). I can’t decide. But this […]

  40. […] From, Cooking For Seven:  Cinnamon Roll cake with maple cream cheese frosting This entry was posted in breakfast, dessert, recipe on September 29, 2011 by […]

Leave a Reply

