I love reviewing products. It’s just fun to test out new things, discover if I really like it.

Today I’m reviewing Clearly Fresh® Bags, storage bags with a 3-inch square membrane that allows your produce to breathe.

 

The claim: Clearly Fresh® Bags can extend the shelf life of fresh fruits and vegetables by up to 50%

The Test: To test the Clearly Fresh® Bags claim, I allowed three bananas to sit on the counter for 12 days.

003

I chose three bananas from the same bunch. 1) was placed on the counter without a bag. 2) was placed in a Clearly Fresh® Bag and sealed. 3) was placed in a cheap (conventional) storage bag and sealed.

The Results:

005

Let’s start with the cheap bag. On the outside, it looks perfectly normal. But peel back the skin and you discover a nasty, squishy mess. Plus, the tip formed all sorts of nasty mold. Ew.

007

Now for the Clearly Fresh® Bag. On the outside it looks much the same as the banana stored in the cheap bag, but the inside was less icky and squishy. The tip was quite mushy, but the rest of the banana was fairly good. The tip also formed all sorts of icky mold, but a bit less than banana #3.

009

Finally, the banana stored without a bag. To my surprise, this banana performed the best on the squishy and moldy test. It was still quite edible after 12 days. However, it attracted fruit flies like crazy. Gross.

 

Conclusion: The Clearly Fresh® Bag definitely kept the banana fresher than the banana stored in the conventional bag. The banana stored without a bag stayed firm and mold-free the longest, but it attracted a multitude of fruit flies. Totally gross.

What I love about this product: The generous size: substantially larger than a gallon bag. It’s so much more convenient to store large amounts of produce in a bag that’s actually big enough! Right now I’ve got three heads of broccoli in one Clearly Fresh® Bag.

Is it worth it/Would I buy it? I think it’s worth $3.99 for 10 LARGE (12” X 14”) bags. Plus, I stored the bananas longer than Clearly Fresh® recommends (9 days is their limit). If I want to store bananas for a week without generating fruit flies, I would definitely chose the Clearly Fresh® Bag.

 

You can purchase the bags for yourself here{Link}

 

Need some banana recipes?

Banana Nut Bread

Banana Poppy Seed Bread

Creamy Coconut Fruit Salad

Banana Cake

 

5 Responses to “Product Review: Clearly Fresh Bags”

  1. Gabe says:

    How is the broccoli faring in the bag? My broccoli always goes limp in the crisper so anything that kept it fresher for longer would be a god send.

  2. Brenda says:

    I always lose lettuce before we use it up. Will have to give these bags a try.

  3. Thanks for an honest review!
    I’ve wondered about these bags. I might invest in a few for when I can’t help myself and buy too much at the market that 2 people can eat.

    Hope you’re having a lovely week being MARRIED!! :)

  4. Katrina says:

    Thanks for the review! A great idea!

  5. Thank you for sharing! Nice article!

Leave a Reply

