Smoky BBQ Sauce, Old & New

for-cooking-for-seven

 

It’s ridiculous how much enjoyment I get out of comparing my old food photos with my more recent work. I find it so interesting to see how my style has changed. How much I’ve grown.

Here’s the comparison of my original Smoky BBQ Sauce photo (taken way back in October 2008, when my blog was brand new) to the photo I took of it just yesterday. Same BBQ sauce, same jar. But I chose different settings and lighting. I’m really disliking the blue color cast on the original photo. But I’m still liking the contrasty atmosphere.

What do you think? Which photo do you like better?

All of this to say, go visit the Tasty Kitchen Blog to see step-by-step instructions for making my Smoky BBQ Sauce {Link}

 

13 Responses to “Smoky BBQ Sauce, Old & New”

  1. Katrina says:

    I like the new photo better. The whisk makes me like it the best…it seems more real or something!

  2. I like the newer one, too. The colours are better; I associate BBQ with a sunny day, so the moodiness of the second photo doesn’t fit for me.

  3. Rachel says:

    The color is just splendid on the new picture!

  4. Ashley says:

    Both photos are gorgeous considering BBQ sauce can be a tough model to photograph, but the new one’s color is bright and brilliant.

  5. Angela says:

    I just wanted to let you know how beautiful your food photos are. I love the newer photo of the BBQ sauce. It’s not just the brilliant colors, but the staging that makes you feel it was just made in a real kitchen (or out on the range)–with the splatters and dirty wisk. Did you take a photography class or is experience doing the trick for you?

  6. Sasha says:

    The new photo makes me want to make this right away! Who knew bbq sauce could be so pretty?

  7. Diane F. says:

    Although both photos are good–I like the new one better. I like the dribbles of BBQ sauce on the wood!

  8. Well, the sauce is absolutely delicious. Made it myself once. The way I see these two photos is that there is a visible change in yourself…. You’ve grown up as a cook and as an author of this blog and photographer… that’s beautiful thing!!! You’re so lucky that you can cook and take photos of your food…. I am a cook but I’m terrible photographer so I have to rely on my partner in this….

    Good luck!

  9. Sarah says:

    I love your photography Erica, the brighter photo is my favorite too (I may have to try out your BBQ sauce recipe!). I also enjoy going through and comparing my old versus new photos.. its amazing how with practice one can get so much better. Did you read about photography or take a class? I have trouble coming up with new settings or presentation ideas so its fun to look at other blogs to find inspiration. You have a wonderful blog!

  10. Erica Lea says:

    Thank you, everyone!

    Angela & Sarah: I haven’t had any formal training. I simply takes LOTS of photos – practice makes perfect! :D I also look at lots of awesome food photos and read photography books for inspiration.

  11. Kate says:

    Definitely like the newest photo better! The color is brighter and the lighting is so much more appealing. I’d make the latest sauce, but would probably steer clear of the first pictured sauce. :)

  12. EVE says:

    wow! you really have done amazing job in taking pictures! latest one is my winner! colours and tone are beautiful!

    and sauce looks really delicious :D

  13. Beautiful photo! I must try the recipe too as it looks so tempting and delicious.

Leave a Reply

