RiceSelect Review & Giveaway + Vanilla Rice Pudding

009

A while back, the folks over at RiceSelect sent me a jar of “Jasmati” rice, and in exchange, I agreed to publish my opinion of it!

RiceSelect, which has been around since the 70s, was the first company to successfully produce basmati rice grown in the USA. Their rice is USA grown and milled/cleaned. I think that’s super-awesome.  They also offer whole grain and organic rice, as well as couscous and orzo.

What I found:

This is a very nice white rice. It cooks up beautifully and quickly (about 15-20 minutes from boil) and has a very good texture. I used it for Thai Coconut Riceheaven!

Would I Buy It?

Yes. Superior quality rice is sometimes a must. And I’d be interested in trying their whole grain rices and pearl couscous. However, the shipping charges seem quite high, so it would be for special occasions.

On to the rice pudding!

Vanilla Rice Pudding

When I was little girl, my mom would make us boiled rice for breakfast. White rice. Brown sugar. Cinnamon. Cream. Scrumptious. There’s still a place in my heart for creamy, dreamy white rice. I know it’s not the most nutritious meal, but oh does it taste good.

Here’s a version that’s a bit more sophisticated.

002

My favorite part is that this rice pudding only uses five ingredients. Five awesome ingredients: Cream, whole milk, rice, sugar, and vanilla beans.

Together, they meld into something magical and comforting. Vanilla Rice Pudding.

Vanilla Rice Pudding

Adapted from Tartelette

Printable Page

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup rice (I used Jasmati)
  • 1 1/2 cups whole milk
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 1/2 of a vanilla bean, cut in half lengthwise and seeds scraped out
  • 1/2 cup demerara sugar

Directions:

1)Place all ingredients (including the empty vanilla pod) in a small saucepan set over medium heat. Bring to a simmer and cook, stirring occasionally, until the rice is tender, about 20-25 minutes.

2) Remove from heat and discard the vanilla pod. Spoon into serving dishes and serve warm or at room temperature with a bit of heavy cream. Enjoy!

On to the Giveaway!

RiceSelect is offering a tote bag and two full-sized rice products (Texmati and Jasmati) to one lucky Cooking for Seven reader.

Here’s how it works:

  • [Mandatory] Leave a comment on this post, answering the following question: What did you have for breakfast yesterday?
  • For extra entries, tweet, blog, or post on Facebook about this giveaway. Make sure to leave a separate comment for each extra entry with a link to the post.
  • For more entries, subscribe to my RSS feed, follow me on Twitter, or become a fan on Facebook. Make sure to leave a separate comment for each extra entry.

Rules:

Giveaway ends Wednesday, October 19, at 12:00 p.m. Central Time. No comments will be considered after that time.

I will select one (1) winner using random.org.

Good luck!

192 thoughts on “RiceSelect Review & Giveaway + Vanilla Rice Pudding

  1. Yesterday morning I was on vacation and had a wonderful date bear claw from a bakery in the town we were staying in. Delicious, followed by wonderful coffee.

  2. We were staying whith friends and were treated to hummus, cacik, olives, feta, pita bread and scrambled eggs with red onions and ham (made from beef)! Delicious!

  3. Yesterday, out of the blue, my husband decided to make me a breakfast that I had a lot as a kid: Eggie in a Basket (or at least, that’s what I remember it being called). He used some Publix-baked Rye bread, cut a whole in the middle, and then put it on a buttered skillet and cracked an egg in the middle. It was a lovely surprise.

  4. All these comments are making me hungry for breakfast! I had cinnamon vanilla buttermilk pancakes with honey on them- at regular favorite at our house.

    I have been daydreaming about rice pudding lately and I think you may have just talked me into making some.

  5. Love this rice. Our local Farm Fresh carries several varieties and I have recently become adept at making risotto with their Arborio Rice. The Jasmati also has a delicious aroma as it cooks and I want to just dive into the pan when it’s done! Will have to make your pudding but will add raisins as my mama always did.

  6. Yesterday I had an omelette with arugula, sun dried tomatoes, and parmesean cheese, as well as a slice of oatmeal bread toast with Irish butter on top and some English breakfast tea.

    I always wake up early so I can have a big breakfast before work 🙂

  7. Subscribe to your blog – a different email though.
    I love making rice pudding. I usually have kashi grains for breakfast – but today I had good rye bread with aged white cheddar – not the best nutritionally, but so good!!

    Thank you – eko

  8. Just recently found your site… very inspiring! I had malt-o-meal for breakfast yesterday made with some vanilla and a dash of brown sugar!

  9. Yesterday I had a blackberry-banana-coconut-allspice-cottage-cheese-mousse topped with our homemade granola. Pureed cottage cheese makes a delightful mousse, by the way. Now I want to make rice pudding. Looks scrumptious.

  10. Pingback: Vanilla Rice Pudding a la Cooking for Seven | Baking and Breakfasts

Leave a Reply

