Creamy Tomato Soup with Dumplings

Creamy Tomato Soup with Dumplings

It’s that time of year again: time to pull your warm clothes out of storage; time to cozy up in a fuzzy blanket with a good book and a cup of tea; time to look longingly at your skis; time to warm your chilly fingers by cradling a steaming bowl of soup in your hands.

Snowing

This soup is absolutely amazing. It’s so flavorful, yet so simple. The blend of herbs is perfect, and the dumplings add a little something special.

008

This is one of Reuben’s favorite soups. I was introduced to it while we were getting to know each other. One evening his family invited me over for supper, and they served this scrumptious soup. Reuben requested that I make it for him, and his family very obligingly gave me the recipe. Here it is for you to enjoy!

Creamy Tomato Soup with Dumplings

Printable page | Serves 3-4

For the soup:

  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 2 tablespoons chopped onion
  • 3 tablespoons flour
  • 2 teaspoons sugar (I use demerara or maple syrup)
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon pepper
  • dash each- garlic, basil, oregano, thyme.
  • 2 cups tomato juice or diced canned tomatoes (I use a cup of each)
  • 2 cups cold milk

1) Sautรฉ onions in butter. Blend in the flour, sugar, salt, pepper & other seasonings.

2) Remove from the heat and gradually stir in the tomato juice. Return to heat & bring to a boil stirring constantly. Boil 1 minute. Stir hot tomato mixture gradually into the milk. Return to saucepan & heat to almost boiling.

For Doodles:

  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • flour as needed (I used a bit over 3/4 cup)

Mix the ingredients together to make a very thick batter. Drop the the batter by teaspoonfuls into the almost boiling soup, coating the spoon with hot soup each time so the batter doesn’t stick to the spoon. Turn off the heat & cover until serving time.

0071

22 thoughts on “Creamy Tomato Soup with Dumplings

  1. I have never made tomato soup but I have made lots of other soups thru the years. For some reason my tomato soup has always been from a can. I plan to make your version soon. It looks so yummy. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Erika, you just combined my two favorites soups into one. I love soups with dumplings, but normally they have meat in them. I’m not a vegetarian, but I don’t eat a ton of meat, so I usually settle for vegetable soup. But your recipe changes my whole approach to soup! I absolutely can’t wait to make it with our tomatoes that I canned this summer.

    This post makes me happy!

  3. Yum! I can’t wait to try this. Tomato soup is one of Kevin’s favorite soups. I will definitely surprise him with this homemade version one of these days for lunch! Thanks so much, Erica!

  4. What a nice recipe! The dumplings make it really special. This is my first visit to your blog, but I’ll definitely be back. I really love the food and recipes you share with your readers. I hope youhave a great day. Blessings…Mary

  5. Hi Erica!
    I know you usually incorporate whole milk into your cooking. Is this what you are using here? Thanks! Prayers for your first Christmas as a wife!

    Dawn ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Hi! I am making the soup right now! I did the mise en place very early this morning while I was cooking your Vanilla Rice Pudding version. I have hit a snag while cooking! There is NO cooktime for the doodles/dumplings AND it says not to boil. Please assist with doodle cooktime and method. Thanks!

    • elisa: So awesome that you’re making my recipes! The original recipe did not specify a time to cook the doodles, so I usually drop them into the nearly boiling soup, remove from heat and cover, and let sit for around 5-10 minutes, or until they are no longer sticky. You can always test one to see if it’s done! Hope that helps. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. This was SO. GOOD. Usually I find recipes that LOOK good (and your amazing food photography definitely makes this look delicious) only to have a massive failure of some sort when I actually try the recipe. I prefer to comment AFTER I make something so that I can give an honest response about my experience. And this was easy & so, so, yummy. I cannot wait to add it to my list of “keepers.” Thanks so much for sharing!

    *I didn’t make the dumplings, only the soup, and I used one 14.5 oz. can on diced tomatoes instead of the juice/diced mixture. It was still great ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. I didn’t get to try the recipe for the soup this time (as I’m a college student prepared with cans of soup and basic baking supplies) however, the dumplings are an amazing addition to an otherwise boring dorm staple. So, thank you!

  9. We recently had the creamy tomato dupling soup at a family restaurant in St Cloud MN and it’s the best soup we’ve ever tasted. They don’t give out the recipe, so I decided to look online – this looks a lot like theirs, so am anxious to try it. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

