Affogato + Bialetti Espresso Maker Review and Giveaway

011

My dad is the king of espresso. For almost as long as I can remember, he has been making his own lattes on a fancy espresso maker. As a little girl, I eagerly anticipated the sound of the milk frothing, hoping there would be a little leftover for me to sip.

Then, I upgraded to the real deal: a carefully crafted latte, composed of perfectly brewed espresso, frothy whole milk, and a splash of vanilla syrup. My dad makes the best lattes, hands down; they are addicting.

0032

Thus, when Bialetti offered to send me one of their products to review, of course I selected their stainless espresso maker. Espresso on your stovetop? It sounded too good to be true.

0042

Here’s the espresso maker disassembled.  I love the design: so elegant.

So how does it work?

You fill the little bottom tank with water, add espresso to the funnel-shaped filter, and screw on the top (I loved that the directions instructed you to not “prize on the handle”). Place on the stove, turn on the heat, and, hey-presto! You have espresso in minutes. The espresso percolates into the top park of the coffee maker.

Yes, it really does work.

But the real question is: would I buy one?

Answer: Yes.

It is extraordinarily easy to use and clean, and it takes up so little space in the cupboard. The espresso is excellent. The price is a bit of a damper (around $40), but I think it’s worth it for a quality product. And it’s much less expensive than many of the automatic machines.

Here’s a tip I learned from a knowledgeable coffee shop worker: as soon as you hear the pot bubbling and fizzing, remove it from the heat. Otherwise, your espresso will be very bitter.

0022

On to the Affogato.

Rich, slightly bitter espresso poured over cool, creamy, sweet ice cream. This is Affogato al Caffè (Italian for “drowned in coffee”), a super-simple, elegant dessert.

Here’s what you’ll need to make your own:

Affogato al Caffè

  • Good quality vanilla ice cream
  • Hot, strong espresso

Directions:

Scoop the ice cream into small bowls or cups. Place in the freezer until firm, about 30 minutes. Brew your espresso and pour over the firm ice cream. Enjoy!

0011

Would you like to win an espresso maker of your own?

bialetti

The folks at Bialetti have generously offered to give away a Class espresso maker to one lucky Cooking for Seven reader!

Here’s how it works:

[Mandatory] Leave a comment on this post, answering the following question: What’s your favorite hot drink?

Rules:

You MUST provide a valid email address so I can contact you if you win.

Only one comment per person.

US residents only, please!

If you are the winner, you must respond within 48 hours with your mailing address or a new winner will be selected.

Giveaway ends Monday, December 5 at 12:00 noon Central Time.

I will select one (1) winner using random.org.

Good luck!

311 thoughts on “Affogato + Bialetti Espresso Maker Review and Giveaway

  1. Day to day, I’m a strong black coffee kinda’ girl. But, at this time of year, I do love to treat myself with a pumpkin spice latte or eggnog latte.

  2. Oh my goodness….so many of them….but I LOVE homemade Chai tea…. strong black tea w/milk and sugar….just like they serve in India! However, I’m sure I could put this to good use or gift it to one of my coffee loving friends!

  3. Good Morning Erica!

    A fragrant honey and cream ladened Chai is my go-to- creature comfort! I make it even more delicious by curling up with a good book while I sip it away! This spicy delight is my Zen cure-all for stress!

    Make it a great day!
    Loretta

    Imagine.rett@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

