How To Cut Butter + The Winner

001

Have you ever been frustrated by trying to cut butter for pastry or biscuits? Have you wished for individual little squares, only to make smooshed-together pieces? Here’s my method for getting separated squares quickly every time.

003

1) Start with cold butter. Cut it into thirds (more if you want smaller pieces) lengthwise, keeping the pieces separated.

2) Turn the pieces on their sides and cut in half (more if you want smaller pieces). Separate and lay out on your cutting board.

3) Keeping the pieces separate, cut the butter crosswise, resulting in little squares.

4) Keep the little pieces separate on your cutting board, and you’re done!

Now for the Bialetti Espresso Maker Winner!

Commenter #215: Debbie Bray, whose favorite hot drink is hot cocoa!

Thank you all for entering my giveaway. Have a lovely day!

4 thoughts on “How To Cut Butter + The Winner

  1. Congratulation to your winner and thanks for the instructions on cutting butter. This is my first visit to your blog so I took some time to browse through your earlier entries. I’m so glad I did that. You’ve created a great spot for your readers to visit and I really enjoyed the time I spent here. I’ll definitely be back. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  2. I have to spread the word about this magical butter technique I recently learned. Grate the frozen butter into your flour. Then all you have to do is stir to incorporate. It’s made amazingly flakey crusts and I heartily recommend it.

  3. I grate my butter too! I do it when I need room temp quickly. (I also grate onions if I want onion flavor but have any nose wrinklers at the table, or just want a fine chop. Oh, and I grate Velveeta if I need it to melt fast. Thanks for allowing this little detour …)

Leave a Reply

