Pear, Dark Chocolate and Munster Panini

009

Don’t you love those times when you get inspired to cook something totally delicious, find you have everything you need, and then just cook it? That’s how this sandwich was for me.

001

Sitting in the fridge was a beautiful, organic red d’anjou pear that, I admit, I had let go a bit past its prime. I was in the mood for a grilled cheese sandwich, but with a bit of sophistication. Seeing several recipes online that paired (NPI) dark chocolate and pears in panini form, I decided to give it a try.

010

Here are my ingredients assembled: good butter, Munster cheese, crusty bread (this recipe), sliced pears and chopped dark chocolate.

004

It was absolutely amazing. The melty, mild cheese with soft pears and chocolate was just wonderful.

008

I don’t have a “recipe” for ya’ll today, just a method. You can easily substitute ingredients (different kinds of pears, cheese and chocolate). Β Use whatever you have on hand!

Pear, Dark Chocolate and Munster Panini | Printable Page

Recipe by Erica Lea | Cooking for Seven

Ingredients:

  • Crusty bread
  • Good butter
  • Dark chocolate (I used bittersweet)
  • Ripe pears, thinly sliced
  • Mild, soft cheese (I used Munster)

Directions:

1) Butter two slices of bread on only one side. Place the pears, cheese and chocolate on one slice and place the second slice on top. Repeat with however many sandwiches are desired.

2) In a cast-iron skillet, melt some butter over medium heat. Add the sandwich(es) and place something heavy on top (I used a heavy bowl + a pot) to weigh it down. You could also use a panini grill if you have one.

3). Cook until browned on one side (a few minutes), flip, and cook until browned on the second side and the cheese and chocolate are melty. Enjoy!


14 thoughts on “Pear, Dark Chocolate and Munster Panini

  1. Those moments of inspiration are my favorite! I always feel so accomplished when I make something wonderful with my the ingredients I already have lying around. Your photos are gorgeous and the panini sounds amazing.

  2. OH YUM! It doesn’t matter if our fridge is bare… we always have the making of a grilled cheese on hand; and of course we always have a HUGE hunk of Kerrygold in the butter dish!

Leave a Reply

