Strawberry Galette + The Winner

Strawberry Galette 004

If I were to choose my bane in baking, it would be pie crust. No matter what I do, it seems, my crusts inevitably turn out tough or crumbly, even if I use all white flour.

Grandma K. agrees with me. Pies are evil.

Strawberry Galette 006

This recipe may of have changed my mind. Slightly. It was the first pie crust that I was sort of proud of. There was no toughness in sight, it was flaky not crumbly and had lovely flavor. I’m still mighty leery of pies, but I just might have the courage make another using this crust recipe.

Recipe notes:

  • The original recipe called for a basil cream sauce, but it sounded a bit strange to me so I left it out.
  • Reuben, who does not like overly sweet desserts, thought this was bit tart. Perhaps another time I would increase the sweetness slightly.
  • With the leftover dough and strawberries, I made little hand pies.

Strawberry Galette | adapted from Martha Stewart | makes 8-10 servings | printable page

For The Dough

  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for surface
  • 1 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 8 ounces (1 cup) cold unsalted butter, cut into small pieces
  • 1/3 cup plus 2 tablespoons ice water

For The Galette

  • 1 pound strawberries, hulled
  • 1/4 cup plus 1 tablespoon sugar (I used evaporated cane juice)
  • 2 teaspoons cornstarch
  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 1 tablespoon water
  • 1 tablespoon cold unsalted butter, cut into small pieces

Directions:

  1. Make the dough: (I mixed the dough by hand using a pastry cutter) Pulse flour, salt, and sugar in a food processor to combine. Add butter, and pulse until mixture forms coarse crumbs. Add ice water, and pulse until just combined (dough will still be crumbly). Shape dough into a disk, wrap in plastic, and refrigerate for at least 1 hour (or overnight).
  2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. On a floured surface, roll dough to 1/4 inch thickness. Cut out a 10-inch round, and transfer to a parchment-lined rimmed baking sheet. Refrigerate for 30 minutes.
  3. Make the galette: Cut strawberries lengthwise into 1/4-inch-thick slices. Reserve end pieces for another use. Toss slices with 1/4 cup sugar and the cornstarch, and immediately arrange them in concentric circles on dough. Start 1 inch from edge, overlapping slices slightly. Fold edge of dough over berries. Refrigerate for 15 minutes.
  4. Whisk together yolk and water. Brush dough with the egg wash, and sprinkle with remaining 1 tablespoon sugar. Dot berries with butter. Bake until crust is golden brown, 40 to 45 minutes.
  5. Transfer to a serving plate. Serve warm with basil cream and fried basil.

Now For the Giveaway Winner!

And the winner of Pioneer Woman’s Cooking Essentials is…

Commenter #77, Nikki Sportsman, who said: “on toast, with jam.”

That’s one of my favorites, too!

Congratulations, Nikki! I will contact you soon.

capture2

Thank you to all who entered the giveaway! Have a lovely day.

6 thoughts on “Strawberry Galette + The Winner

  1. I’ve been eying this galette in my Martha Stewart book! Yours looks very lovely. I’m obsessed with basil, so I think I’d give the cream a go. 😉

  2. Add dlo glas, ak batman kè jouk jis konbine (farin ap toujou gen friyabl). Kapab fòm farin nan yon ki gen kapasite, vlope nan plastik, e refrijere pou omwen 1 èdtan (oswa lannwit lan). Sa a resèt la te chanje lide mwen..

  3. There are a handful of tricks to getting perfect pie crusts. I will share what few I have.

    — I use frozen butter, and GRATE it into the flour (you would have added any salt or sugar to the flour before the butter). I then mix the flour and butter with a fork until it’s crumbly, and then I add liquid.

    — water + working will make the flour tough, as it’ll work the gluten. You can use a splash of vodka or other high proof alcohol (from the freezer again) to reduce the water count, but keep moisture for working. Any alcohol will bake out, and it will not taste of liquor.

    — ice cold water. Keep everything you’re working with cold cold cold.

    — I often use a metal bowl, so I’ll put the whole bowl in the freezer for a bit to make sure it’s cold. (When making merengue, you can put the bowl in the freezer to get higher peaks too!)

    — when rolling out your pie crust, too much flour will make it gummy and tasteless. You can roll it between to pieces of parchment paper or plastic wrap to reduce the flour.

    I strongly believe that everyone can make pie crust, it’s merely finding techniques that work for them! I hope these little tips help so you can join us on the pie bakers side of life! (You’ll find yourself making quiches, and tarts, and all sorts of things just because you can now :-P)

Leave a Reply

