Oven Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Oven Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Perhaps I have been spared a bit of the usual hatred for Brussels Sprouts by the simple fact that my mom didn’t cook them much when we were kids. Of course I’d heard so many bad things about this leafy green that I somehow had it in my mind that they were gross and to be avoided.

Oven Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Then I saw beautiful pictures of roasted Brussels Sprouts floating around the web. They didn’t looks so bad. In fact, they looked pretty good, delicious even.

Oven Roasted Brussels Sprouts

So I purchased a small bag from our local health-food store and roasted them up. They. Were. So. Good. It is my firm belief that roasting will transform nearly any vegetable into something scrumptious (perhaps with the exception of beets).

00Oven Roasted Brussels Sprouts3

These little veggies pack a pretty good nutritional punch as well. Just one cup provides over 100% of your daily intake of vitamins K and C. Perfect for a pregnant me.

If you are an avid Brussels Sprouts hater and have never tried roasting them, may I suggest purchasing a small bag and giving it a try. There’s not much to lose, and you may find that you love (or at least don’t hate) them.

Note: this is a method, not a recipe with specific ingredient amounts. Tailor it to your own tastes!

Oven Roasted Brussels Sprouts | by Erica Lea | Printable Page

Ingredients:

  • Brussels sprouts
  • olive oil
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • good-quality butter for serving, optional (my favorite brand)

Directions:

1) Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (205° C). Wash the Brussels sprouts and remove the outer layer of leaves and any that are yellow or ugly-looking. Cut off the brown stubs and slice in half.

2) Arrange the sprouts on a rimmed baking sheet or shallow roasting pan, cut side up. Drizzle with good olive oil and sprinkle with salt and fresh-ground pepper.

3) Roast in preheated oven for 15 minutes, flip the sprouts over and cook for an additional 10 minutes, or until the sprouts are tender and the outsides are nicely colored.

4) Serve with extra salt and pepper and (my favorite) good-quality butter. Enjoy!

Oven Roasted Brussels Sprouts

20 thoughts on “Oven Roasted Brussels Sprouts

  1. When I was a little girl, my mom served us brussels sprouts under the name ‘Cabbagettes’… we loved cabbage so we gobbled them right up! very clever! I just bought a bag this morning and will roast them tonight.

  2. This is my favorite way to eat brussel sprout. I especially like when the leaves get crispy. Sometimes I grate a little parmesan cheese on top – yummy!

  3. I always hated broccoli and then earlier this year my mom found a recipe for roasted broccoli, with garlic, lemon and parmesan cheese… and to my shock, I LOVED it. Like, went-for-seconds-and-thirds loved it. Maybe the same magic would work with brussels sprouts. 🙂

  4. Thanks for the reminder that brussels sprouts are back again! I like them in a simple gratiné with potatoes or in a soup with pancetta and cream. But this looks really good, too. I think I will try it soon.
    And also: Thank you for indicating the temperature in degrees Celsius for your European readers. This makes it even more likely that I try the recipe.

  5. “With the exception of beets”—–> ?!

    Beets are AH-MA-ZING when oven roasted .

    I do them EXACTLY as you have stated for the sprouts. (Which by the way I have always loved too)

    =)

  6. TOTALLY made roasted veggies tonight for dinner, Brussels included! Like you, I was not tarnished as a child by poorly-prepared Brussels sprouts, so I looooove them…in every form. We like to cook them in a frying pan with chopped up bacon and balsamic vinegar. SO good! Yours look delicious and perfect to boot!

  7. They are also really delicious peeled, and sauteed leaves in olive oil and garlic, apply black pepper and chopped pistachios! I was in a hurry once and used the shred blade on my food processor and the people who had eaten them the peeled way didn’t care for them as much. It’s tasty and a very visually pleasing dish.

  8. Pingback: a taste surprise! |

  9. Pingback: Brussels Sprouts with Feta & Pecans recipe on FamilyFreshCooking.com — Family Fresh Cooking

Leave a Reply

