Honey Roasted Pears

Honey Roasted Pears

I must admit that November is not my favorite month. In Norther Minnesota, most of the colorful leaves are long gone and everything seems brown, grey and cold. I long for the lakes to freeze over so we can go skating and for snow so we can ski.

Honey Roasted Pears

But this is the month to catch your breath before winter settles in. A time to dig out your extra warm coats, boots and sweaters in preparation for the freezing-cold days ahead.

It’s also a time to enjoy warm tea on grey days and hot, filling desserts on chilly evenings.

Honey Roasted Pears

These roasted pears are the perfect little treat for an otherwise gloomy evening. They cook up without fuss and are fantastic with a scoop of good-quality vanilla ice cream. You really must serve them with ice cream.

HONEY ROASTED PEARS | adapted from Sprouted Kitchen | Printable Page | makes 2 servings

Ingredients:

  • 2 ripe pears
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • pinch of salt
  • good quality vanilla ice cream, for serving

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 450° F (230° C). Slice the pears in half lengthwise and cut out the centers.

2. In a small cast iron skilled place the butter, honey, vanilla and salt. Bring to a gentle boil and simmer for 2 minutes, stirring constantly.

3. Add the pears to the pan, cut side down. Continue to simmer for 2 more minutes. Turn the peaches over and transfer to the oven. Bake for 12 minutes or until the pears are nice and soft and the sauce has caramelized.

4. Serve hot or warm with vanilla ice cream and the caramel sauce. Enjoy!

Honey Roasted Pears

9 thoughts on “Honey Roasted Pears

  1. Hot pears and cold vanilla ice cream are one of my favourite combinations ever. I’m often tempted to drown them in chocolate sauce, but you’ve reminded me that sometimes simple and plain can be the most delicious.

  2. Pingback: Weekend Reading: November 10, 2012 | Life Your Way

  3. I hear ya! November in MN can be a real beast. Actually, the whole winter can be…

    The only redeeming thing about Nov. is that my birthday is in Nov. I wonder what age I’ll stop being excited about my birthday? I’ll be 27 this year, and it still is awesome. So maybe I’ll be one of those odd balls that never cares about getting older.

    The pear and ice cream shot looks spectacular!

  4. I’m usually not fond of winter, myself, but this year I find myself looking forward to the snow. There’s something rejuvenating about the bright, pristine white while everything slumbers.

    In the meantime, I’ll have to try this recipe out. I’m a sucker for anything with honey.

Leave a Reply

