Peppermint Hot Chocolate

Peppermint Hot Chocolate

For some reason, I have been averse to pairing mint with chocolate my whole life. Whenever someone would order a mint mocha or mint chocolate chip ice cream I would inwardly shake my head in wonderment. Why ruin perfectly good chocolate with mint?

Peppermint Hot Chocolate

But I heard people raving about the peppermint hot chocolate at Starbucks. Could I be wrong in my presumption? I decided to give this mint-and-chocolate thing a try.

Am I ever glad I did. The fresh, strong flavor of peppermint lightens the rich, heavy hot chocolate perfectly. Which means you can drink more of this scrumptious beverage without feeling overwhelmed by the creaminess.

Recipe Notes

  • The original recipe suggests chopping your chocolate, but I just used chocolate chips and they melted perfectly.
  • The OR also directs you to bring the milk/cream to a boil and add it to the chocolate. I just put it all in a pot and let it melt together. Worked wonderfully!
  • The peppermint flavor that I used left little grease puddles at the top of my hot chocolate. If you’re a purist, go for a non oil-based flavoring.
  • I added a few drops of the peppermint flavoring to the whipped cream just for kicks. I highly recommend it.

Peppermint Hot Chocolate | adapted from Bon Appetit | makes 4 servings | PRINTABLE PAGE

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup chilled heavy whipping cream, divided
  • 1 teaspoon + 2 tablespoons sugar or sweetener of choice
  • 2 cups whole milk
  • 4 ounces bittersweet chocolate chips or chocolate bar, chopped
  • 1/4-1/2 teaspoon peppermint flavor
  • candy canes, for garnish

Directions:

1) Place 1/2 cup cream, 2 tablespoons sugar, the milk and chocolate in a small, heavy-bottomed saucepan. Cook over medium heat, whisking constantly, until the chocolate has completely melted and is smooth. Remove from heat and stir in the peppermint flavor.

2) In a small bowl, beat the remaining 1/2 cup chilled cream with a few drops of peppermint flavor (optional) until soft peaks form.

3) Serve the hot chocolate with whipped cream and a sprinkling of crushed candy canes. Enjoy!

15 thoughts on “Peppermint Hot Chocolate

  1. I like peppermint sticks and I like chocolate chips, but when it comes to the two together in a drink, I hesitate like you used to. I should be brave and join you in trying a sip peppermint hot chocolate! And maybe, just maybe, I’ll want to take a second sip, and then another.

    Lovely photos, Erica Lea!

  2. I’m so happy I discovered your blog! I absolutely hear you on the “why ruin perfectly good chocolate with mint,” but you’re right–when it’s done right it’s delicious. I also swoon for hot chocolate made with real chocolate rather than cocoa–one of winter’s greatest luxuries as far as I’m concerned!

    We’re celebrating our favorite holiday recipes this month on the Shine Supper Club and I hope you’ll join us. This recipe would be a perfect contribution!

  3. Pingback: Weekly Food Gawking-Holiday Edition | Haley Eats

  4. Pingback: Trinkschokolade und Pfefferminz | Cala kocht

  5. Pingback: Warm Winter Drinks | creative gift ideas & news at catching fireflies

Leave a Reply

