Wishing You All…

A Very Merry Christmas!

Wrapped

Homemade Eggnog

If you’ve never tried or made eggnog from scratch before, let me urge you to do it. Today. It’s my favorite Christmas drink. You can find my step-by-step photos over on the Tasty Kitchen Blog here.

Reuben is sick today. I hope he feels better soon – it’s sad to see him so miserable.

This evening, if he’s feeling up to it, we’re heading over to Reuben’s family’s house (a few miles down the road) for a new-to-me tradition: a soup party! Sounds like an awesome custom to me. Family members bring a different kind of soup to share. So far I’ve heard rumors of seafood, squash-apple-parsnip and oyster (or was is clam?). I’m planning on bringing my Sausage and Potato Soup.

Another new-to-me tradition: opening presents on Christmas Eve. We’ve always saved our presents for each other for early Christmas morning. When do you open your presents?

I leave you with these beautiful words from the hymn “As with Gladness Men of Old” — it’s not one often sung, but the words are powerful. The tune is the same as “For the Beauty of the Earth

As with gladness men of old

Did the guiding star behold

As with joy they hailed its light,

Leading onward, beaming bright

So, most gracious Lord, may we

Evermore be led to Thee.

Holy Jesus, every day

Keep us in the narrow way;

And, when earthly things are past,

Bring our ransomed souls at last

Where they need no star to guide,

Where no clouds thy glory hide.

Merry Christmas from Reuben & Erica!

9 thoughts on “Wishing You All…

  1. Hope you were able to make it to the Kastner get together. We always opened gifts on Christmas eve except for 1 which we opened Christmas morning. The Christmas morning gift was from drawing names (with the immediate family). You never knew who had your name until you exchanged gifts. Christmas Day when I was growing up both sets of grandparents came over to eat with us at noon, visit, & just have a nice day celebrating.

  2. Merry Christmas to you all, Erica! πŸ™‚ So sorry your husband is ill-I hate when my hubby gets sick. 😦 Hope he gets better soon & you stay well yourself! And I’m craving your egg nog right now! :)) I’ve never made it from scratch before & now I’m on a low sugar diet so I can’t have it. :(( Drink a cup for me! πŸ˜‰

    • garysgirl: And a happy new year to you and yours! πŸ™‚ Reuben is finally feeling better – he was pretty miserable on Christmas day. 😦 We had some natural store-bought eggnog for our Christmas brunch — not as good as homemade, but still pretty good. Yes, I partially quoted that hymn to remind myself why we celebrate. πŸ™‚

  3. Oh & I love that hymn! I’ve never heard it before but those words are beautiful! Thank you for sharing. So often we get so wrapped up in all the excitement of Christmas gifts etc that we forget how we came to have Christmas in the first place! πŸ™‚

  4. Hi, Erica!
    This is my first time at your blog and I loved it!
    I live in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. It’s really hot here, it’s summer time, lots of fruits, many people on the beaches all day long. So different from your place, as I can read here. At my house I can only think about salads, fruits and cold drinks for Christmas and Reveillon, but your recipes and photos made me dream about eggnog !
    I hope you have a wonderful new year!
    Bye!
    Cris

    • Cris: That is so cool to be able to connect with someone so far away and who is enjoying such a different climate. Now that Christmas and the holidays are over, I too am mostly interested in fresh foods and refreshing drinks. Hope you’re doing well and have an amazing 2013! ~ Erica

Leave a Reply

