Salad Inspiration

Salad Inspiration

I don’t know about you, but lately I’ve really been into salads. In fact, I’ve had one nearly every day for past week. All of the nutritious ingredients that I pile into my bowl make me happy, knowing that I’m doing my body (and my baby’s) good.

Often times I fall into a rut with my salads: Stuff greens into bowl. Add cheese, nuts and dressing. Repeat with exact same ingredients every day. But I’ve been attempting to be more creative and try new combinations. Here are a couple that I’ve been enjoying:

Mixed greens with clementines, avocado, red wine vinegar, extra virgin olive oil, fresh ground pepper and coarse sea salt.



Salad Inspiration

Another lovely combo: mixed greens with cheese, pepitas, olive oil, vinegar, salt and pepper. Simple but satisfying.

I also tried an apple/gruyere combination. Very good.

gle-smashed-potatoes-1

Also, these Smashed Potatoes with Parmesan Gremolata are AMAZING. Get the recipe over on the Good Life Eats blog here, and make them tonight!

What are your favorite salads? I need some inspiration!

Hope ya’ll have a happy Monday!

Erica

22 thoughts on “Salad Inspiration

  1. Love love love salads and could probably eat one every day, even if it was just lettuce, tomato, and cucumber. My favorite salad is steak and arugula (arugula, steak, heirloom tomatoes, green onions, cuties, pom seeds, and feta with a balsamic dressing). I am excited to try sushi salad this evening over at A Beautiful Mess (http://www.abeautifulmess.com/2012/09/sushi-salad-recipe.html). Also enjoyed trying a weird combo of kale and lime dress (http://www.thebittenword.com/thebittenword/2012/09/bon-appetits-dish-of-the-year-crispy-kale-salad-with-lime-dressing.html). Not sure if I’d make it again though.

  2. I have 2 favorites that I really should eat more of:

    1) French Country Salad: mixed greens, gala apple, gorgonzola cheese, toasted walnuts, purple onions, and bacon with bacon vinaigrette.

    2) Chicken Apple Berry Salad: mixed greens, granny smith apple, pecans, smoked gouda cheese, chicken, and topped with balsamic vinaigrette and fried sweet potato crisps.

    I LOVE these, and could eat them every day. Maybe I should start…or at least 4 times a week. πŸ™‚

  3. I find that smashed potatoes idea really exciting. I don’t think that I will find the time tonight, but I will try it some day.
    Anyway I’ve been into a salad phase myself these days, but my favorite remains the tuna salad, with black olives, mixed greens, some olive oil and lemon juice and that’s it. So simple, yet it remains my favorite.

    • Adriana: I should really try tuna. For some reason I’ve been against it my whole life (without really trying it), but Reuben says it’s good. And black olives sound lovely! πŸ™‚

  4. My current favorite salad is: mixed greens, fresh strawberries, pecans, lots of feta cheese, and a raspberry balsamic dressing. I can’t get enough of this salad!!!

  5. I love these salads:

    Simple Greek salad from Tracy at Shutterbean.com: http://www.shutterbean.com/2012/simple-greek-salad/

    Thai Beef Salad with Herbs at Shutterbean.com: http://www.shutterbean.com/2012/thai-beef-salad-with-herbs/

    Tuscan Kale Salad with Pecorino at Shutterbean.com: http://www.shutterbean.com/2011/tuscan-kale-salad-pecorino/

    Green Israeli Couscous Salad from Joy the Baker: http://joythebaker.com/2011/07/green-israeli-couscous-salad/

    Harvest Salad with Pumpkin Cider Vinaigrette from Lauren: http://www.healthyfoodforliving.com/?page_id=30012?recipe_id=6019376

  6. My favorite is baby spinach, blackberries, red onion, avocado, bleu cheese or feta, black pepper, and a sprinkle of a good vinegar (my new favorite is a fig vinegar from Vom Fass) and good olive oil.

  7. I love a simple arugula salad with tomatoes and a chopped up hard-boiled egg, olive oil and balsamic vinegar..yummy:) Also, I like opening up a can of garbanzos (drain and rinse) and tossing them into my salads too:)

  8. Right now I’m really in to winter salads.

    Thinly sliced fennel, orange segments, black pepper, salt and evoo. It’s also very good with green olives and arugula if your craving a little greenery.

    Radiccio, romain or red leaf lettuce, thinly sliced radishes, mint and green onion with a yogurt, evoo, lime, salt and pepper dressing. Can also add sliced apples.

    Raw kale, roasted yam or squash cubes, pepitas and avocado with a honey lemon tahini dressing.

    Quinoa salad with mint, feta, cucumber an radishes.

    And lastly Asian Cucumber Salad. Rice vinegar, sugar and sesame oil dressing with fresh red fresno chilies and thinly sliced cucmbers. Let cucumbers marinate in dressing for about 15-30 minutes before serving.

    • Robin: Oh dear. You are so creative with your salads! Haha – I didn’t know what “evoo” was – I was imagining some sort of fermented soy. πŸ˜› This has really inspired me to branch out with my salads! Thank you for sharing. πŸ™‚

  9. Lettuce (anything except iceberg)
    +
    avocado
    +
    tuna from a can, drained and flaked
    +
    cubed cucumbers
    +
    my favorite dressing (fresh ginger and garlic, touch of honey, dash of salt, small spoon of old style dijon mustard, red wine vinegar, extra virgin olive oil)
    =
    very yummy, especially in summer

  10. Also:

    cucumbers, red onions, feta, dill, some splashes of vinegar and olive oil

    And a yummy quinoa salad:

    cooked quinoa, raw zucchini, tomatoes, onions, spoon of dijon, vinegar and olive oil

Leave a Reply

