Banana Nut Bread Oatmeal

Banana Bread Oatmeal

Hello everyone! Long time no see, eh?

This past month has been CRAZY. I gave birth. ‘Nuff said.

I don’t have the words to describe to you how horribly hard, frustrating, rewarding and sweet it has all been.

Helen

But this little girly is so worth it. Soon, I’m sure, the sleepless nights, slow recovery and endless feeding sessions will all fade into distant memory. Hopefully.

Banana Bread Oatmeal

One of the hardest parts of recovery is not being able to do ANYTHING. I didn’t realize how much I took for granted the little things like combing my hair, fixing a cup of tea and doing the dishes. I have really missed being able to create in the kitchen.

Banana Bread Oatmeal

This oatmeal was one of the last things I was able to concoct before little Helen arrived. I had just discovered how easy and delicious steel cut oats are. Yes, they do take a while longer to cook, but I believe it’s worth the wait.

Here’s a scrumptious way to spice up your morning oats. Hope you enjoy – and create something fun in kitchen! You never know when that privilege will be taken from you.

Banana Nut Bread Steel Cut Oats | Recipe by Erica Lea of Cooking for Seven |
Makes 4 servings | PRINTABLE PAGE

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup water
  • 3 cups whole milk
  • 1 cup steel cut oats
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • Generous pinch each of: cardamom, nutmeg and cloves
  • 2 large, ripe bananas, plus extra for serving
  • 2 tablespoons natural sweetener of choice
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup toasted pecans
  • Butter, cream and maple syrup for serving

Directions:

1) Bring the water and milk to a brisk boil. Stir in the oats, salt and spices. Cook uncovered, stirring occasionally, until the oats are tender, about 30 minutes.

2) Meanwhile, toast the pecans. Mash the bananas until fairly smooth. Once the oats are finished cooking, stir in the bananas, sweetener and vanilla.

3) Serve immediately with butter, cream and maple syrup, if desired. Store any leftovers in the refrigerator.

Helen

Aaaand one more of this little dolly. Because I can’t help myself.

23 thoughts on “Banana Nut Bread Oatmeal

  1. Oh my goodness, she is so sweet Erica!! She has such big eyes! I can only imagine how hard it must be at the start, but it’s so amazing to have something as precious as a baby to take care of. Congrats! And yummy looking oatmeal šŸ™‚

  2. I just happened upon you on zite. The food looks yummy but that baby, she’s a beauty. Thirty years ago I was in your place. It is harder than you know, but the best thing you will do in your life–ever! Just when you think you can’t get up at 4am for another breast feeding, you wake up one morning and realize she didn’t wake you up! When it happened to me, I ran in to see if my daughter was still breathing!! Haha. God seems to know when moms have had enough. Enjoy her because you are going to blink your and she will be thirty. She really is a sweet, sweet face. God bless.

  3. So sorry your recovery is going slow… I experienced something similar after delivery. (Was not at all prepared for the discomfort and how long it lasted!) The lack of sleep does add insult to injury… but there’s nothing so sweet as those first few months with a new baby girl. Baby Helen is beautiful. God bless.

  4. She’s incredibly adorable!!
    I can’t help but think she’s looks very much alike the swedish princess that was born last year, Estelle šŸ™‚
    Recovery is Hard, harder for some people, I had difficulties even getting out of bed for three weeks after Malvas birth and going outside was a no-no! But things get better and remember; it’s O.K to lie in bed with your baby all day long! These days your husband is there to serve you ( unless he’s gone back to work already, I’ve got a feeling they go back to work really quickly in the states. In Denmark the man has the first month off from work and the woman gets a year off with 80% wages and the man gets 6 months off, we’re quite spoiled..).
    Anyway, I hope your recovery is going well, that you get enough sleep and time to enjoy that precious girl you have!! šŸ™‚
    A.

  5. Congrats on Baby Helen’s arrival! :)) What a little doll! The first baby is the hardest in many ways-parenting is such a new, different, exciting and challenging time of your life. But it gets easier and things will get back to semi-normal before you know it! šŸ™‚ Recovery can go slow and that’s ok-it’s God’s way of tuning you to your new little ones needs. They need mama so badly that first year! Will keep you in my prayers. Hang in there mama! ā¤

  6. Congrats on your precious little girl! It’s a good thing you’re into photography because she’s a cutie, there are many pictures in your future. Best wishes to you and your family including your speedy recovery!

  7. Congratulations on beautiful little Helen! After my first was born, I was certain I would never emerge from my home again; it was so overwhelming and exhausting. Recovery can be awful- hang in there! It sounds like you have a wonderful hubby, so that’s a huge blessing and help. Enjoy your little beauty- one morning you will wake up and realized you slept alllll night long! It will come! P.S. I love your blog. šŸ™‚ I made the baked oatmeal last week, and it was so very delicious. Thank you for delicious and healthy recipes!

  8. Congratulations on your sweet baby girl! I’ve had five kids, and trust me, this season will pass quickly. It won’t seem like it because they hours are long, but she will be grown up before you know it. My advice is to remember to enjoy it!

  9. Such a sweet baby! So nice to see your posting though I completely understood that you’ve been wrapped up these past few weeks. Ditto re all of the mom advice above, it really does go fast – even those first few, difficult weeks. The first three months with my girls were always the most challenging as we found our way with one another but keep in mind: this too shall pass. I think that has been the consistently best parenting advice and/or mantra that I ever received. Many blessings on your sweet family.

  10. Congrats on the new precious bundle. She is a real cutie. I promise you that things will evolve into a new good normal. I don’t remember that my natural births took so long to recouperate, but I remember that it was a week after my c-section before I would say, “Hey, I do think I am going to live.” Everyone is different with their recovery. Steel cut oats are wonderful. I most often cook enough for a couple meals when I make them.

  11. Pingback: (via Banana Nut Bread Oatmeal | Cooking for Seven) | balancegoal

  12. Erica–first of all, your daughter is absolutely beautiful. That look on her sweet little face makes me chuckle. Second: take care of yourself. Rest as often as you can. Recovery can definitely be challenging. Aside from the physical discomforts, the emotional/mental adjustments can take their toll. Hormonal changes aren’t very kind to new moms. Let the unimportant things go…the dishes can wait.

  13. Congratulations! She is so beautiful! It does get easier and you will feel like yourself again, but it will probably take a few more months at least! šŸ™‚ But like you said, it’s worth it

  14. Congratulations on your beautiful girl! Enjoy this slower time of life…it will speed up all too soon! I too love steel cut oats and I wanted to pass on to you that ours only takes 5-10 minutes to cook! Soaking overnight in water and a few TBSP of yogurt makes this speedy cook time possible. Yum!

  15. Congratulations! What a beautiful girl. Everything gets better at about 3 months. but..it’s three months you never get back. My oldest is 15, my youngest is 1 and a half. Wish I could do it all again! God bless.

Leave a comment