Coconut & Chicken Curry Soup

 

Having lived in Minnesota my whole life, I’ve become quite accustomed to temperatures that dip well below freezing for months on end; to drifts of snow several feet high. Do I bemoan my fate and pine for summer? Not at all!

I love being able to stand by the fire, pull on warm socks & sweaters, and enjoy a bowl of steaming soup.

Here’s a recipe that’s sure to keep you cozy. Not only by it’s thermal heat – the spicy jalapeño peppers will keep your taste buds hopping!

Notes: I added my own spin to this recipe. We had some fresh ginger in the refrigerator, so I added a tablespoon or so. I thought the amount of spicy heat was perfect, but if you prefer a milder flavor simply leave out the jalapeño peppers and reduce the amount of curry powder.

The original recipe suggest that you serve the soup with jasmine rice. The soup was wonderful on its own, though I would like to try it with rice or rice noodles.

Coconut & Chicken Curry Soup

Adapted from a recipe by Katie Goodman

Printable Recipe

Ingredients:

  • olive oil
  • 3 chicken breasts, cut into bite sized chunks
  • 1/2 of a large onion, chopped fine
  • 1 tablespoon grated fresh ginger
  • 1 1/2 cups chicken broth
  • 1 can (14 ounces) unsweetened coconut milk, full fat
  • 2 teaspoon curry powder
  • 1 jalapeño, seeded, minced
  • 2 tablespoons lime juice
  • 1 small green bell pepper, sliced thin
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro, plus extra for garnish
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened chipped coconut
  • 2 cups freshly cooked jasmine rice (optional)

Directions:

1) Heat the olive oil in a medium sized soup pot over medium heat. Add the chicken to the oil, season lightly with salt and pepper. Sauté until cooked through and golden. Remove chicken and set aside. Sauté the onion, adding more oil if necessary, until tender.

2) Return the chicken to the pot with the onions. Add the ginger; cook for 1 minute. Add chicken broth, coconut milk, curry powder and jalapeno. Bring to a simmer over medium heat. Add bell pepper and cilantro and simmer an additional 3 minutes. Stir in lime juice. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

3) Optional: Spoon rice into 4 bowls. Top with a ladle or two of soup. Garnish with additional cilantro and a sprinkling of shredded coconut. Serve.

Makes approximately 6 servings

 

58 Responses to “Coconut & Chicken Curry Soup”

  1. I’m from Northern Wisconsin, so I understand your feelings of winter perfectly :) And soup! It’s a staple, October through March! Thanks for a lovely new recipe…
    cathy b. @ brightbakes

  2. JehanP says:

    I spent one Christmas in South Dakota and thought I would die from the cold! Being from a tropical country I just couldn’t adjust. I love the flavors of your soup, I’m a huge fan of coconut and curry!

  3. rachel says:

    This soup looks absolutely delicious, now if I could only get the 10 and under crowd to eat it!! BEAUTIFUL PICTURE!

  4. Cheri says:

    I cannot wait to try this!

  5. Minnesota and its cold!! Can’t forget that :-)
    The curry looks really good Erica! I can have a bowl of it right now.

  6. ohh my! i MUST try this!! and your food photography… is soo amazing! i have soo much to learn from you!!!

  7. christina says:

    Thanks so much for this recipe! It was so good!

  8. I love soup in the winter! I completely understand your feelings about it. Winter here in Wyoming starts in October and usually ends by late May…nine months of winter make anyone a soup-convert! :)

    I love your blog, btw! I have a large family myself (7 brothers and 1 sister, plus my parents) so I think it’s great that you take the time to make the large family meals beautiful and super tasty!

  9. this soup looks wonderful – beautiful picture! I’m always looking for new soup recipes, and this is on my to-make list now. perfect for winter :) I’m excited to try out coconut milk too – never tried it before!

  10. Beth says:

    I am making this soup right now–I decided to put it in the slow cooker because my family loves shredded chicken in our soups and it smells SOOOOOO GOOOOD! I can’t wait to try it! Virginia is cold enough for a yummy soup tonight.

  11. Mmm, looks yummy! I’m not a huge curry or spicy fan, so I would cut down on those ingredients, but I love everything else in the ingredient list! Soup is one of my favorite foods…

  12. Krista says:

    Hi Erica!
    I just had to try out this recipe. I made it for dinner tonight and it’s Amazing!!
    Yummy! Thank you for sharing.

  13. Katie says:

    I live in the upper Midwest, too, so I’m definitely craving hot foods. This looks fabulous!

  14. I am dying to try to get the ingredients and making one of these.

  15. naomi says:

    I love this soup! Coconut and curry is such a great combination. Loving the spicy heat in this. :)

  16. Nicole says:

    Your soup looks so comforting and perfect for this time of year! I’m from Michigan and I love that you’ve embraced the weather and made soup.

  17. Marie says:

    Wow! That looks amazing. I even have all the supplies. Thanks for submitting it to M&T Spotlight!

  18. Thomas says:

    Great soup! It made saturday in Oslo seem not so cold and dark. Thanks a lot!

  19. val says:

    This soup looks so warm and comforting.

  20. Julia says:

    I’m originally from Wisconsin so I understand those frigid Mid-West winters. This soup looks perfect for warming up.

    I just came upon your blog and am looking forward to reading more.

    Best!

  21. Stephanie says:

    This looks soooo good! And this is totally soup season! Thanks for sharing.

  22. Miz Boo says:

    This looks amazing!!! I hope I can make it and that it will turn out ;o)

  23. Miz Boo says:

    There are so many curries. Which curry powder do you use?

  24. Erica Lea says:

    Miz Boo: I usually use yellow curry, just because that is what is widely available. I really like red curry paste as well. Very good flavor.

  25. […] This is not my own creation- I adapted it and made it my own after being inspired from Erica Lea. […]

  26. Lori says:

    Hi Erica Lea,

    I found your blog through Tasty Kitchen and am so excited to continue exploring. I can tell already, I will enjoy your writing and recipes.

    Wanted to mention that I was looking forward to checking out your Homemade Eggnog recipe, but the link takes me to Coconut Chicken Curry Soup. That sounds wonderful as well, but I’d really like to try the eggnog, if possible.

    Have a great weekend!

    Lori

  27. I am your newest follower. ;) This soup sounds great!

  28. sg says:

    i made the soup, but mine was a bit yellow, i guess from the curry. However, it was yummy and a bit spicy. very filling too. thanks a lot.

  29. michele says:

    Thanks for the recipe…my boyfriend is known as the “soup man” so I will be making it soon. I am originally from MN and will be up this summer for a visit, sorry to hear about the rough winter and all the flooding that is going on…hope you aren’t too affected.

  30. sara says:

    Yum, this soup looks so delicious! Love all the flavors going on, and such a gorgeous photo! :)

  31. Bethany says:

    we devoured it! made a few changes to the amounts to suit our taste, but will definitely make again. added jasmine rice and loved it. next time i think I will shred the chicken instead of cube it. thanks for the great recipe!

  32. ruby says:

    I found you through Pinterest, and made the soup this afternoon. It is wonderful!

  33. Danelle says:

    Found this recipe on Pinterest. Eating it now, as I type. So delicious!

  34. […] 8. per una cena speziata una zuppa di pollo al curry e cocco da cooking for seven […]

  35. Mish says:

    wheat free and dairy free, even with my food allergies i can try this and it sounds really good. since i’ve been dealing with my food allergies i’ve been looking for food options since i have have to cook for myself most of the time anymore.

  36. I am enjoying your recipes. Our family wants to do some different recipes to go along with some traditional ones at Christmas.

    Here is our traditional/non traditional menu

    Baron of Beef (we usually have turkey)
    Your chicken curry
    Mashed potatoes
    cranberry sauce
    my dad’s waldorf salad (haven’t had it for years)
    mixed veggie casserole topped with fried onions (brighter and less gooey than green been casserole)
    Holiday cheesecake
    spiced apple cranberry cider

    Possibly dilly pull apart rolls.

    God bless you.
    Lawana

  37. Yvonne says:

    Found this on pinterest and made it tonight for dinner. OMG it was delicious!!! My boyfriend and I loved it and will definitely make it again in the future! The flavor was amazing and it went great with rice. Thanks so much for posting this! :)

  38. […] delish & I bet I could make an entire pot of it for the same price.  So I plan on making Coconut Chicken Curry Soup […]

  39. Shy Miz says:

    I have only one thing to say:

    THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 years ago I came back from my 1 year euro trip and ever since I’ve been
    searching all over the web / restaurants / cook books for a recipe of this great soup I ate in Berlin in a very small restaurant on the east side.
    I believe I’ve tried something like 80+ different recipes and not even one of them was close to what I was searching for! Until yesterday!!!!! your recipe is the perfect one!!!!! It tastes just like my dream soup!!! You have no idea what it means to me! While I was traveling through Europe, I came back to Berlin 13 times just to have this dish! And now I can have it whenever I want!!!

    Thank you so much Erica!!!!!!
    You’ve bought yourself a lifetime fan!!!!

    Shy M.

  40. Erica Lea says:

    Shy Miz: That is so awesome! I am so pleased that my recipe was exactly what you were looking for! What a cool story. :)

  41. […] The original recipe suggest that you serve the soup with jasmine rice. The soup was wonderful on its own, though I would like to try it with rice or rice noodles. Coconut & Chicken Curry Soup Coconut & Chicken Curry Soup | Cooking for Seven […]

  42. […] Coconut & Chicken Curry Soup, Steame Rice and Fresh Bread […]

  43. […] night when I got home is tried out a new paleo recipe! I found the original recipe on Pintrest (http://www.cookingforseven.com/2011/01/coconut-chicken-curry-soup/)  and realized that I could make some simple switches to make it into paleo yummies. First of all […]

  44. Andrea says:

    Well, I am now following your blogs thanks to this wonderful recipe you have posted. I made this soup last night for friends and everyone loved it! Thanks!

  45. Erica Lea says:

    Andrea: Woohoo! So glad you liked to soup! :)

  46. Shae says:

    Husband and I just finished this entire recipe … Rice and all. Fabulous! We both
    Loved it and I will definitely make it again soon. For anyone who is concerned about the jalapeño … Don’t worry… Cut all the seeds and membrane out and chop it fine. No heat at all.

  47. Shae says:

    Husband and I just finished this entire recipe … Rice and all. Fabulous! We both
    Loved it and I will definitely make it again soon. For anyone who is concerned about the jalapeño … Don’t worry… Cut all the seeds and membrane out and chop it fine. No heat at all. I agree with Bethany’s comment re using shredded chicken instead of bite-sized chunks.

  48. Juliette says:

    Hi Erica,

    this was delish! thanks so much. I just finished 2 big bowls while i did a blog post on it athttp://bit.ly/UGNK69

    I like your site too!

  49. Erica Lea says:

    Juliette: Mmmm…yours looks so good! So glad you enjoyed it. :)

  50. Sue says:

    Love this soup, made it last night. Had all the ingredients and found it on Pinterest. Made our noses run as we really like it quite hot, so I used extra curry powder. My husband kept saying during the evening that I must make it again soon as it was so delicious.

  51. Sue says:

    Had I come back and say I went out today and bought more coconut milk so that I can make this soup again. Can’t get it out of my head!! Got to make it again. Real soon!

  52. Chef Tony says:

    I’m in the process of starting a personal chef business and I’m currently building my menu of appetizers, soups, entrées, side dishes, and desserts. While researching soups I came across your web site. Not wanting to offer “the same as usual,” I look for recipes that are unique or have been improved by creative cooks. Before adding an item to the menu, I make the recipe and try it for myself. Your version of coconut and chicken curry soup is a delight. I especially enjoyed the balance of spiciness and citrus flavor of the lime. I served it with the jasmine rice, which makes it an ideal one dish meal. I will definitely add this to the menu.

  53. Greer says:

    I don’t understand how this recipe feeds seven. Your family must be ravenous. I live by myself and can only get about 3 servings out of it. And, just to make sure I wasn’t crazy I asked my friend who posted the recipe on her facebook wall and she said she agreed. Do you double the ingredients but failed to mention this? So confused.

  54. Ainsley says:

    Thanks so much for this awesome recipe! It is making work week lunches a real treat! I did make some alterations to this one though to make it go a bit further and include more veggies! I added celery, nappa cabbage, green onion, sliced shrimp and some carrots which adds some more color and is a bit more filling. Also used about an additional cup of chicken broth to stretch it a bit more. Didn’t seem to weaken the taste at all.

  55. Lisa B says:

    This soup is BOSS!! All my favorite flavors! Came out wonderfully, although I didn’t have jalepenos on hand. But my friend from Nigeria made me a batch of her excellent coconut rice, which has peppers in it, and it gave the soup just the right kick. Next time I make this — and there will be plenty of next times — I will be sure to have the jalepenos. Great great recipe — NO MATTER THE SEASON OR WEATHER!!

Leave a comment