Chocolate Pudding

0034

Why is something as simple as chocolate pudding so delightful?

0063

Smooth and creamy, intense and rich.

0053

Notes: Our favorite way to eat chocolate pudding is hot from the pan, poured over vanilla ice cream. It acts as a chocolate sauce, but has much more depth.

My sweetener of choice is maple syrup. But you can use anything you wish: white sugar, raw sugar, sucanat, etc.

What’s your favorite way to eat chocolate pudding?

Chocolate Pudding

Printable Page

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 1/8 teaspoon (just a pinch) salt
  • 1/3 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup or sweetener of choice
  • 2 large egg yolks, lightly beaten
  • 2 cups milk
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Directions:

1) In a medium saucepan, whisk together the cornstarch, salt, cocoa powder, and maple syrup until smooth. In a medium bowl, whisk together the milk and egg yolks.

2) Slowly whisk the milk & yolks into the mixture in the pan. Set the heat to medium and cook, stirring constantly, until the mixture thickens and comes to a boil. Boil and stir for 1 minute.

3) Remove from heat and stir in the butter & vanilla. Serve warm (over ice cream) or chilled (with whipped cream).

Makes approximately 4 servings

0043

25 thoughts on “Chocolate Pudding

  1. I made this yesterday and it was delicious! I ate a few bites while it was still hot (I couldn’t resist!) before putting the rest to chill in the refrigerator. Great recipe!

  2. My favorite way to eat ALL things is straight from the mixing bowl, licked off my finger 😉
    Love the little jars, looks great!

  3. well, I´m a serious chocoholic so my favorite way to eat chocolate pudding is by sinful big spoonfuls with no other thing to interfer between me and my drogue. (did I just said drogue? 😀 )

    on the other hand, I have never tried choc pudding sweetened with maple syrup, I think is a smart addition that should add lots of complexity to it. will give it a try.

  4. Erica, have you ever reheated this? I want to make it for this Sunday dinner’s dessert but thought it might be easier to make it ahead of time. Would that work, do you think?

  5. Pingback: Lucky Pony » Blog Archive » Chocolate pudding was a hit, not that I would know. Sad face.

  6. I have made this twice in the last three days! SO yummy!
    My brothers can’t stop raving!
    Awesome recipe…. thank you!!!!

    I come from a big family, too, ( There are nine in all!) and love it!!!!

    I’m enjoying your blog…. lots!

  7. Pingback: KITCHEN NOTES: fourteen (mexican chocolate pudding) | noms and notes

Leave a comment